Questions and answers: Critical habitat for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales in Canada

What is critical habitat?

Critical habitat is defined in the Species at Risk Act (SARA) as the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as such in the recovery strategy or action plan for the species. For aquatic species, critical habitat may include areas used for spawning, rearing young, feeding and migration. SARA requires that critical habitat be identified to the extent possible for all endangered, threatened and extirpated species.

What is critical habitat for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales?

Partial critical habitat for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales was identified in the Recovery Strategy for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales (Orcinus orca) in Canada, which was finalized in 2008 and first amended in 2011. Critical habitat for Southern Resident Killer Whales was identified at that time as the transboundary waters in southern British Columbia, including the southern Strait of Georgia, Haro Strait and Juan de Fuca Strait (Figure 1), while critical habitat for Northern Resident Killer Whales was identified as the waters of Johnstone Strait and southeastern Queen Charlotte Strait (Figure 2).

The 2018 draft Amended Recovery Strategy for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales in Canada was developed to update the critical habitat description (section 7) to clarify the features, functions and attributes of existing critical habitat, and to identify the following areas of special importance as additional proposed critical habitat for Resident Killer Whales:

According to the best available information on the biological status of the species, this critical habitat provides features, functions and attributes required to support the species’ survival or recovery. For both Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales, the functions of critical habitat are: feeding and foraging; reproduction; socializing; resting; and additionally for Northern Resident Killer Whales, beach rubbing.

The draft Amended Recovery Strategy for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales also provides additional clarification of the features and attributes that applies to the two proposed additional critical habitat areas, as well as to the two critical habitat areas that are already protected. All aquatic habitat in the four areas described above that is characterized by one or more of the following features and attributes is defined as critical habitat for the species:

These features and attributes support the feeding and foraging, reproduction, socializing, resting and beach rubbing functions of Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat.

Map: Southern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat
Figure 1: Boundaries of current Southern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat in the transboundary waters of southern BC and northern Washington, and of proposed Southern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat off Southwestern Vancouver Island.
Map: Northern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat
Figure 2: Boundaries of current Northern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat in Johnstone and southeastern Queen Charlotte Straits, and of proposed Northern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat off Southwestern Vancouver Island and in western Dixon Entrance.

How is critical habitat legally protected?

Legal protection means that all of the functions, features and attributes of the identified critical habitat are protected from destruction by provision(s) in, or measure(s) under, SARA or another Act of Parliament. Within 180 days after the recovery strategy identifying critical habitat referred to in subsection 58(1) is included in the public registry, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and the Minister responsible for the Parks Canada Agency must ensure that the critical habitat is legally protected. Existing critical habitat for Resident Killer Whales in southern BC and in Johnstone and southeastern Queen Charlotte Straits is currently legally protected under a Critical Habitat Order. It is anticipated that the additional critical habitat identified for Resident Killer Whales off southwestern Vancouver Island and in western Dixon Entrance will also be legally protected under a Critical Habitat Order.

Section 58 of SARA prohibits the destruction of any part of the critical habitat identified in documents published in the Species at Risk Public Registry. When in force, this section of SARA:

  1. Allows charges to be laid under SARA against a person who destroys any part of critical habitat;
  2. Requires that a permit (or agreement) be obtained before undertaking an activity that is likely to destroy any part of critical habitat, which will contain conditions or restrictions that would reduce the impacts of the activity on the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale; and
  3. Complements existing, applicable laws and regulations by ensuring that all activities that may result in critical habitat destruction are managed as necessary as well as drawing attention to the importance of sites for survival or recovery of the species.

What are the activities likely to destroy critical habitat?

The draft Amended Recovery Strategy provides examples of activities that are likely to destroy any part of critical habitat if unmitigated. These can include single or multiple activities occurring at one point in time or recurrently, that result in immediate or cumulative habitat loss, either temporarily or permanently. Critical habitat destruction would render the area unsuitable to a point where it would no longer serve its function when needed by the species.

The following is a list of examples of activities that are likely to cause destruction of any part of critical habitat found in the draft Amended Recovery Strategy for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales if unmitigated. This list is not considered exhaustive but reflects the best available knowledge at this time.

The activities on this list are not automatically prohibited. SARA prohibits the destruction of critical habitat caused by human activities, not the activities themselves. Such destruction may result from activities occurring within or outside of the critical habitat, if they contribute to a critical habitat function being made unavailable at a time it is required by the species.

Threat Examples of activities Possible outcomes
Reduced prey availability Fishing for Chinook Salmon, Chum Salmon and other important prey species
Other activities detrimental to habitat and survival of prey (e.g. fishing for forage fish species)
Loss of prey
Loss of forage fish for prey species
Acoustic disturbance Vessel traffic
Seismic surveys, military and commercial sonars
Pile driving, underwater explosions
Chronic noise resulting in masking of communication and echolocation
Acute and chronic acoustic disturbance resulting in disruption of behaviour or displacement from habitat
Environmental contaminants Release of deleterious substances
Point source and non-point source pollution
Loss of prey or reduction in prey quality
Loss of water quality
Physical disturbance Vessel approach to whales (within 200m)
Vessel anchoring in vicinity of rubbing beaches
Activities that prevent approach of whales to rubbing beaches; or that displace or disrupt rubbing behaviour
Human presence on rubbing beaches when whales present or nearby
Reduction of physical space available to whales
Displacement of whales from rubbing beaches, prevention of use of rubbing beaches
Geophysical disturbance Shore-based industrial activities that could alter beach substrate
Activities that result in alteration of stream flow to rubbing beaches, beach sediment and siltation
Geophysical disturbance resulting in loss of function

How do I ensure my activities will not destroy Critical Habitat?

The draft Amended Recovery Strategy for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale contains information that may help you determine if your activity could destroy any part of critical habitat. If you are still uncertain, seek advice from a qualified environmental professional. They may be able to advise you on how to proceed with your activity while also protecting Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat by providing technical advice on appropriate measures to avoid or mitigate impacts. If your activity could destroy any part of critical habitat for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales, you will need to contact DFO to determine if the activity can be authorized.

Who do I contact for more information?

For more information, please contact: SARA.XPAC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Questions et réponses : Habitat essentiel pour les épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud au Canada

Qu’est-ce qu’un habitat essentiel?

L’habitat essentiel, aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), est l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce. Pour les espèces aquatiques, l’habitat essentiel peut inclure les zones utilisées pour le frai, l’élevage des jeunes, l’alimentation et la migration. La LEP exige que l’habitat essentiel soit désigné dans la mesure du possible pour les espèces en péril, menacées et disparues du pays.

Qu’est-ce que l’habitat essentiel pour les épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud?

L’habitat essentiel partiel des épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud a été désigné dans le Programme de rétablissement de l’épaulard (Orcinus orca), populations résidentes du Nord et du Sud des eaux du Pacifique au Canada, finalisé en 2008 et modifié pour la première fois en 2011. À l’époque, l’habitat essentiel des épaulards résidents du Sud a été désigné comme étant les eaux transfrontalières dans le Sud de la Colombie-Britannique, y compris le Sud du détroit de Georgie, le détroit de Haro et le détroit Juan de Fuca (figure 1). L’habitat essentiel des épaulards résidents du Nord a, quant à lui, été désigné comme étant les eaux du détroit de Johnstone et du Sud-Est du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte (figure 2).

L’ébauche de 2018 du Programme de rétablissement modifié de l’épaulard, populations résidentes du Nord et du Sud des eaux du Pacifique au Canada a été élaborée pour mettre à jour la description de l’habitat essentiel (section 7) afin de clarifier les caractéristiques, fonctions et attributs de l’habitat essentiel existant et afin de désigner les zones d’importance particulière suivantes comme un habitat essentiel supplémentaire proposé pour les épaulards résidents :

Selon la meilleure information disponible sur la situation biologique de l’espèce, cet habitat essentiel fournit les caractéristiques, fonctions et attributs nécessaires à la survie et au rétablissement de l’espèce. Pour les épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud du Canada, les fonctions de l’habitat essentiel sont : l’alimentation et la quête de nourriture; la reproduction; la socialisation; le repos; et, en plus, pour les épaulards résidents du Nord, le frottement aux rochers près des plages.

L’ébauche du Programme de rétablissement modifié de l’épaulard, populations résidentes du Nord et du Sud offre également une clarification supplémentaire des caractéristiques et attributs qui s’appliquent aux deux zones d’habitat essentiel supplémentaires proposées, ainsi qu’aux deux zones d’habitat essentiel déjà protégées. Tout l’habitat aquatique des quatre zones susmentionnées, qui se caractérise par l’un ou plusieurs des attributs et caractéristiques suivants, est défini comme l’habitat essentiel des espèces :

Ces caractéristiques et attributs appuient les fonctions d’alimentation et de quête de nourriture, de reproduction, de socialisation, de repos et de frottement aux rochers près des plages de l’habitat essentiel des épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud.

Carte: de l’habitat essentiel actuel des epaulards residents du Sud dans les eaux transfrontalieres du Sud
Figure 1 : Limites de l’habitat essentiel actuel des épaulards résidents du Sud dans les eaux transfrontalières du Sud de la C.-B. et du Nord de l’état de Washington, et de l’habitat essentiel proposé des épaulards résidents du Sud au large du Sud-Ouest de l’île de Vancouver.
Carte: l’habitat essentiel actuel des epaulards residents du Nord
Figure 2 : Limites de l’habitat essentiel actuel des épaulards résidents du Nord dans le détroit de Johnstone et dans le Sud-Est du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte, et de l’habitat essentiel proposé des épaulards résidents du Nord au large du Sud-Ouest de l’île de Vancouver et dans la partie ouest de l’entrée Dixon.

Comment l’habitat essentiel est-il protégé légalement?

La protection légale signifie que l’ensemble des fonctions, caractéristiques et attributs de l’habitat essentiel désigné sont protégés contre la destruction par des dispositions ou des mesures appliquées en vertu de la LEP ou d’une autre loi fédérale. Dans les 180 jours suivant l’intégration dans le registre public du programme de rétablissement désignant l’habitat essentiel mentionné au paragraphe 58(1), le ministre des Pêches et des Océans et le ministre responsable de l'Agence Parcs Canada doit s’assurer que l’habitat essentiel est protégé par la loi. L’habitat essentiel existant des épaulards résidents dans le Sud de la C.-B. ainsi que dans le détroit de Johnstone et dans le Sud-Est du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte est actuellement protégé par la loi, en vertu d’un arrêté en conseil visant la protection de l’habitat essentiel. On prévoit que l’habitat essentiel supplémentaire désigné pour les épaulards résidents au large du Sud-Ouest de l’île de Vancouver et dans la partie ouest de l’entrée Dixon sera également protégé par la loi en vertu d’un arrêté en conseil visant la protection de l’habitat essentiel.

L’article 58 de la LEP interdit de détruire un élément de l’habitat essentiel désigné dans les documents publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril. Dès son entrée en vigueur, cet article de la LEP :

  1. Permet, en vertu de la LEP, de mettre en accusation une personne qui détruit toute partie de l’habitat essentiel;
  2. Exige l’obtention d’un permis (ou d’une entente) avant d’entreprendre une activité susceptible de détruire toute partie de l’habitat essentiel, lequel doit indiquer les conditions ou les restrictions qui réduiraient les incidences de l’activité en question sur les épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud;
  3. Complète les lois et règlements applicables existants en faisant en sorte que toutes les activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel soient gérées au besoin et en soulignant l’importance de désigner des sites pour la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce

Quelles sont les activités qui pourraient détruire l’habitat essentiel?

L’ébauche du programme de rétablissement modifié fournit des exemples d’activités susceptibles de détruire toute partie de l’habitat essentiel si le risque n’est pas atténué. Il peut s’agir d’une seule ou de plusieurs activités qui ont lieu à un moment précis ou de façon répétée entraînant la perte immédiate ou cumulative d’habitat, temporairement ou définitivement. La destruction de l’habitat essentiel rendrait la zone inadéquate à un point tel que celle-ci ne jouerait plus son rôle lorsque l’espèce en a besoin.

Les éléments suivants sont une liste d’exemples d’activités qui, si elles ne sont pas atténuées, sont susceptibles de détruire toute partie de l’habitat essentiel désigné dans l’ébauche du programme de rétablissement modifié pour les épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive, mais elle reflète les meilleures connaissances dont on dispose pour le moment.

Les activités figurant sur cette liste ne sont pas interdites de manière automatique. La LEP interdit la destruction de l’habitat essentiel causée par les activités humaines, pas les activités elles-mêmes. Cette destruction peut résulter d’activités menées à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur de l’habitat essentiel qui entraînent l’indisponibilité d’une fonction de l’habitat essentiel à un moment où l’espèce en a besoin.

Menace Exemples d’activités Résultats possibles
Disponibilité réduite des proies Pêche du saumon quinnat, du saumon kéta et d’autres espèces de proie importantes
Autres activités néfastes pour l’habitat et la survie des proies (p. ex. pêche des espèces de poisson fourrage)
Perte de proies
Perte de poissons fourrages pour les espèces-proies
Perturbations acoustiques Trafic maritime
Levés sismiques, sonars militaires et commerciaux
Battage de pieux, explosions sous-marines
Bruit chronique entraînant le masquage de la communication et de l’écholocalisation
Perturbations acoustiques aiguës et chroniques causant une perturbation du comportement ou des déplacements hors de l’habitat
Contaminants environnementaux Rejet de substances nocives
Pollution ponctuelle et diffuse
Perte de proies ou diminution de la qualité des proies
Dégradation de la qualité de l’eau
Perturbations physiques Approche des épaulards par les navires (moins de 200 m)
Ancrage des navires à proximité des plages où se frotter aux rochers
Activités qui empêchent l’approche des épaulards pour se frotter aux rochers près des plages; ou qui déplacent ou perturbent le comportement de frottement aux rochers
Présence humaine sur les plages pour se frotter aux rochers lorsque des épaulards sont présents ou à proximité
Réduction de l’espace physique disponible pour les épaulards
Déplacement des épaulards hors des plages pour se frotter aux rochers, utilisation impossible des plages pour se frotter aux rochers
Perturbations géophysiques Activités industrielles à terre qui pourraient modifier le substrat de plage
Activités qui entraînent la modification de l’écoulement jusqu’aux plages pour se frotter aux rochers, des sédiments des plages et de l’envasement
Perturbations géophysiques entraînant une perte de fonction

Comment m’assurer que mes activités ne vont pas détruire l’habitat essentiel?

L’ébauche du Programme de rétablissement modifié de l’épaulard, populations résidentes du Nord et du Sud contient des renseignements qui pourraient vous aider à déterminer si votre activité est susceptible de détruire toute partie de l’habitat essentiel. Si vous êtes toujours dans le doute, demandez l’avis d’un spécialiste qualifié en matière d’environnement. Il pourrait être en mesure de vous indiquer comment mener votre activité tout en protégeant l’habitat essentiel des épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud, en vous donnant des conseils techniques sur les mesures adéquates permettant d’éviter ou d’atténuer les répercussions. Si votre activité est susceptible de détruire toute partie de l’habitat essentiel des épaulards résidents du Nord et du Sud, vous devrez communiquer avec Pêches et Océans Canada qui déterminera si cette activité peut être autorisée.

Avec qui faut-il communiquer pour obtenir davantage de renseignements?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez écrire à l’adresse SARA.XPAC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca