Lesson Plan - Coho salmon and habitat loss

Material available and resources required

Download this lesson plan

Prescribed learning outcomes and curriculum organizers

Science 4

Life science (habitats and communities):

  • determine how personal choices and actions have environmental consequences

Science 5

Earth and space science (renewable and non-renewable resources):

  • analyse how BC's living and non-living resources are used
  • describe potential environmental impacts of using BC's living and nonliving resources

Science 7

Life science (ecosystems):

  • analyse the roles of organisms as part of interconnected food webs, populations, communities, and ecosystems 
  • assess the requirements for sustaining healthy local ecosystems
  • evaluate human impacts on local ecosystems

English language arts 4

Comprehend and respond (comprehension):

  • organize information or ideas they have read, heard or viewed in the form of simple charts, webs, or illustration

Communicate ideas and information (knowledge of language):

  • write legibly, using personal styles of cursive script that are consistent in alignment, shape, slant, and spacing

Communicate ideas and information (composing and creating):

  • manage and organize information by grouping and sorting it into charts, webs, subtopics, or logical sequences 

Self and society (building community):

  • demonstrate a willingness to work with others toward a common goal

Support may be available

Contact your local Stream to Sea Education Coordinator or Community Advisor or phone 604-666-6614 to find out if an Education Coordinator in your area assists with this activity.

Lesson overview

Overview of activity

The purpose of this activity is to make students aware that some human activities can have environmental consequences and that a BC salmon species, (Fraser Interior coho) has been put on the endangered species list. In this activity, the "loss of habitat" human activities of forestry, mining, agriculture, linear development, urban and rural development and water use are examined as causes to loss of habitat. If teachers are using the "Probe" science texts, this activity would be best done after Chapter 10, Section 2.

Estimate of time required

Other required material:

Suggested assessment activities

The "Definition Matching Worksheet" and "Finding Solutions to Coho Salmon Habitat Loss" chart may be used as assessment tools

Recommended additional resources and optional enrichment activities

(E.g. Web-sites, Teaching Guides, Student Reading, Videos/Audio-tapes, Posters and Brochures, Field Trips)

Activity description

Overview - The purpose of this activity is to make students aware that the Interior Fraser River coho salmon have been established as "endangered", and how human activities can have environmental consequences that directly affect the coho's habitat. Forestry, mining, agriculture, linear development, urban and rural development, and water extraction (use) are considered as causes of loss of habitat for Fraser Interior coho. If teachers are using the "Science Probe" textbook, this activity is best done after Chapter 10, Section 2.

Preparation

Syllable cards

Copy each syllable onto a separate index card or sheet of paper; there are 31 syllables. Provide one card to each student. These cards will be used in a syllable-combining exercise. [Option: to make the syllable-grouping exercise easier, include capital letters at the beginning of each word, or colour code the syllable cards.]

Clues

Put the following clues on large chart paper or photocopy and attach to the back of each syllable card. Three to five minutes into the syllable-combining game, suggest that these clues could help lead them to their habitat loss team-mates.

Familiarization

The teacher should review the Background material and Definition Matching Worksheet provided and prepare overheads for the map of the Fraser River and the Definition Matching Worksheet (if required).

Activity

  1. Inform the students that this activity that deals with how human actions have affected the habitat of coho salmon in the Interior Fraser River watershed of British Columbia, and that cumulatively, these actions have put coho on the endangered species list
  2. Review the concept and definition of habitat with the class and have students share several habitat examples (encourage local examples)
  3. Review with students the life cycle stages of coho salmon, writing each stage on the board as they are named (refer to background information for basic lifecycle details). Point out the life cycle stages in fresh water and salt water, then let the students know that the lesson will focus on habitat challenges that coho salmon face in fresh water. At a minimum, discuss the habitat required at the egg and spawner stages which take place in the fresh water of the Fraser River
  4. Review the key ideas of Chapter 10 from the Science Probe text book: human actions have an impact on habitats; changes in a habitat can affect the survival of a population; people can conserve habitats; and personal choices can have positive or negative effects on habitats
  5. Move to an open area indoors or out. Provide each student with a syllable card. Give students five minutes to find fellow students with the syllables that are required to complete a word or pair of words. Each word or pair of words defines a type of human activity that can cause the loss of coho habitat: forestry, agriculture, water use, linear development, urban development, rural development, and mining. Groups of students that can form one of the "habitat threat" words or pairs of words form a team
  6. Once the students have found their "habitat threat" team members, have students form a large circle, sitting near their team members. Ask teams to share their combined syllables with the rest of the class. Write the habitat threat words on a board or chart paper. Lead a discussion about the human activities listed and how they could create loss of habitat; provide information or ask leading questions to enhance the understanding of habitat loss for coho salmon
  7. Using an overhead projector or a large map of BC, identify the Fraser River, the Fraser River watershed and the Interior Fraser River watershed (upstream of Hell's Gate). Syllable cards can be collected or pasted as words on the large map or chalkboard
  8. Have students return to their seats and individually complete the Definition Matching Worksheet. Depending on the reading ability of the students, this worksheet may look overwhelming; however, clues are provided in the first line of each paragraph. [Option: the worksheet could be made into an overhead and be read orally to the students while they complete it.] 
  9. Inform students that these threats are very real today for coho salmon in the Interior of British Columbia. There is a team of scientists (the Interior Fraser Coho Recovery Team) that has written a report with suggestions to improve coho habitat, and to get Interior Fraser coho off the endangered list. Discuss the personal choices that students may make that would lessen their impacts on coho habitat

Evaluation

Teachers may make use of the "Finding Solutions to Coho Salmon Habitat Loss" chart as an evaluation tool in several ways. First, assign or have students choose one or two threats to coho habitat in the Interior Fraser River Watershed.

  1. By individually filling out the chart, students will:
    • Describe what causes the problem
    • Evaluate how it affects coho salmon
    • Consider various solutions to fix the loss of habitat problem

    The teacher can decide whether or not to use the information from the "Definition Matching Worksheet" to help the students complete the assignment.

  2. Students can individually describe the selected habitat problems and their effects on coho salmon. Then, as take home work, students can interview several people (include adults/parents/friends, etc.) and record their suggestions of possible solutions. Teachers may also make use of the Definition Matching Worksheet as an evaluation tool.

Student handout

Write the number of the "human activity" word next to its description.

Human activity words

  1. Forestry
  2. Mining
  3. Linear Development
  4. Urban Development
  5. Rural Development
  6. Water Extraction
  7. Agriculture
Number Description
People who live in the countryside may clear land, put up buildings, or drain or fill in watersheds to make a place where they can live. These changes to the landscape reduce the amount of land available for water to drain into. Residents' sewage disposal, use of lake or stream water and removal or alteration of stream-side vegetation can all cause damage to coho salmon habitat.
If many trees are harvested in a watershed, this can change water flows and increase erosion and sedimentation. Poorly-built roads for tree-harvesting vehicles can cause landslides, change the stream channel or increase sedimentation downstream. All of these changes can harm coho salmon spawning and rearing habitat.
Land for crops or cattle is generally cleared of trees and shrubs and buildings are constructed. Stream-side plants are often removed by machines or grazing animals. Where there are no plants along a stream, the water temperature can rise, sediment can wash into the creek, the stream can change shape, and animals have less places to find cover. These changes can all harm coho salmon spawning and rearing habitats and migration routes.
In many areas of the Interior Fraser watershed, there are high demands for water use and storage for crop irrigation and hydro-electricity. When water is removed from its natural sources, there is less water for fish, and habitat and migration routes are harmed. When there is a drought, coho cannot afford to lose water from their rivers, streams and lakes.
Looking for gold often means using lots of water, moving stream channels, suction dredging (digging up stream beds), and discharging (dumping) sifted rocks and dirt back into waterways. Heavy machinery may also operate near streams. In the past, gold-hunting activities were responsible for much damage to coho habitat.
In the city, buildings and roads cover natural surfaces, creating storm drain runoff that flows into nearby waterways. Waterfront landscaping and construction may remove or alter plants growing on the stream bank. The people who live in cities use nearby water in their homes for cooking, cleaning, and bathing, and then return the polluted water to local waterways.
Some industries such as oil and gas pipelines, railways, roads and highways and electrical lines follow alongside a river. Their construction and buildings can damage fish habitat. Bridges and culverts can create barriers to salmon migration, which may limit coho salmon access to rearing and spawning habitats.

Background information

Watersheds

Habitat loss

Interior Fraser coho

Salmon lifecycles

Status of Interior Fraser coho (COSEWIC)

Status of Interior Fraser coho (SARA)

The Species at Risk Act (SARA)

Working together to Protect Aquatic Species

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) was created to protect wildlife species from becoming extinct in two ways:

The Act became law in June 2003. It includes prohibitions against killing, harming, harassing, capturing or taking species at risk.

A collaborative effort

Three government departments are directly involved in protecting species at risk: Environment Canada, Parks Canada, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Fisheries and Oceans is responsible for all aquatic species, freshwater and saltwater alike.  From the beginning, it was recognized that no single government, industry or community could protect Canadian species at risk on its own. Governments and stakeholder groups across Canada must all work together. In fact, SARA was designed to encourage such cooperation. The good news is that everyone can help in some way: by knowing the species at risk and understanding why they're threatened (for example), or by taking steps to care for their habitat.

How does a species get on the list?

Species are designated "at risk" by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), an independent body of experts that assesses wildlife according to a broad range of scientific data. The federal Cabinet then decides whether those species should get legal protection under the Act. These decisions are made after consultations with affected stakeholders and other groups.

Species can be listed as:

Extinct: no longer found anywhere on the planet.

Extirpated: no longer in the wild in Canada, but existing in the wild elsewhere.

Endangered: a wildlife species facing imminent extirpation or extinction (the species could soon become extirpated or extinct). 

Threatened: likely to become endangered if nothing is done to reverse the factors leading to its extirpation or extinction.

Special concern: a wildlife species that may become a threatened or endangered species because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats.

More information about Species at Risk can be found at www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca

Map of the Fraser River watershed

Map of the Fraser River Watershed

Evaluation/assessment tools

Finding solutions to the coho salmon habitat loss in the Fraser river

Help identify the problems coho face and imagine some solutions to their habitat loss problems. Answer in point form. Try to include solutions that begin with "I could... 

Habitat loss problem:

What causes this habitat loss problem?

How does this problem affect coho salmon?

What solutions would help restore or prevent further loss of habitat?

Lesson Plan Written by Joanne Day, edited by Karen E. Morley and Anne Jenkins

La disparition de l'habitat du saumon coho

Aperçu des ressources et du matériel requis

Aperçu du plan de leçon

Résultats d'apprentissage prescrits et composantes du programme d'études

Science 4e

Sciences de la vie

  • relier la structure et le comportement d'organismes locaux à leur survie dans leur environnement;

Science 5e

Sciences de la terre et de l'espace

  • décrire les incidences de l'action des humains sur les ressources en eau de la Terre.

Français langue première 4e

Langue et communication (Compréhension de l'écrit, de l'oral et du visuel) :

  • comprendre un vocabulaire enrichi ou spécialisé nécessaire à l'apprentissage des différentes matières

Langue et communication (Expression écrite, orale et non verbale) :

  • utiliser un vocabulaire enrichi ou spécialisé, relative aux matières enseignées
  • pour présenter sa pensée, organiser les informations selon un ordre logique sous la forme d'une toile d'araignée, d'une carte d'exploration ou d'autres moyens visuels

Français langue seconde - immersion 4e

Langue et communication (Expression personnelle et interaction) :

  • interagir avec confiance et de façon spontanée avec ses pairs et le personnel de l'école en minimisant le recours à sa langue maternelle
  • enrichir sa communication spontanée en employant dans de nouveaux contextes le vocabulaire relié aux matières enseignées

Langue et communication (Organisation et communication des idées) :

  • organiser des informations et des idées selon un ordre logique sous forme de toile sémantique ou de carte d'exploration ou à l'aide d'un autre support visuel

Langue et communication (Perfectionnement de l'expression et présentation) :

  • construire des phrases simples enrichies

Langue et communication (Compréhension : négociation du sens) :

  • reconnaître un problème de compréhension et en dégager la source (connaissance limitée du sujet, vocabulaire difficile)
  • manifester sa compréhension d'un message oral ou écrit, illustré ou non, en exécutant une série de directives orales ou écrites

De l'aide peut être mise à votre disposition

Veuillez vous adresser au coordonnateur de l'enseignement de votre région responsable du programme Au fil de l'eau ou à un conseiller communautaire de Pêches et Océans Canada ou encore composez le (604) 666-6614 et demandez si un est disponible dans votre région pour vous assister dans cette activité.

Aperçu du plan de leçon

Aperçu de l'activité

L'objet de cette activité est de sensibiliser les élèves à deux notions : 1) les activités humaines qui peuvent avoir des conséquences néfastes sur l'environnement; et 2) l'inscription d'une espèce de saumon de la Colombie-Britannique, le coho du Fraser intérieur, sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition. Au cours de cet exercice, les élèves examinent les activités humaines qui causent la disparition de l'habitat de l'espèce, soit la foresterie, l'exploitation minière, les projets linéaires, l'aménagement urbain ou rural et l'utilisation de l'eau. Si vous vous servez du manuel d'enseignement des sciences Science Probe, nous vous recommandons de faire la présente activité après la section 2 du chapitre 10.

Temps approximatif requis

Autre matériel requis

Suggestions d'activités d'évaluation

Le "Jeu des définitions" et la feuille intitulée "La recherche de solutions à la disparition d'habitat du saumon coho..." peuvent servir à l'évaluation.

Ressources supplémentaires et activités d'enrichissement facultatives recommandées

(p. ex. sites Internet, guides pédagogiques, lectures libres, bandes vidéo et audio, affiches et dépliants, sorties éducatives)

Description de l'activité

Vue d'ensemble - L'objet de cette activité est de sensibiliser les élèves au fait que le COSEPAC a désigné le saumon coho du bassin intérieur du Fraser "espèce en voie de disparition", et aux répercussions environnementales directes que peuvent avoir les activités humaines sur l'habitat du coho. On considère la foresterie, l'exploitation minière, l'agriculture, les projets linéaires, l'aménagement urbain et l'aménagement rural, ainsi que les prélèvements (l'utilisation) d'eau, comme des causes de la disparition de l'habitat du saumon coho du Fraser intérieur. Il est recommandé aux enseignants et aux enseignantes qui utilisent le manuel intitulé Science Probe de faire la présente activité après avoir vu la section 2 du chapitre 10.

Préparation

Fiches-syllables

Copiez chaque syllabe sur une fiche ou sur une feuille de papier; il y a 41 syllabes en tout. Distribuez une fiche par élève. Le but de cet exercice et de combiner ces syllabes. [Remarque : Pour faciliter cet exercice, vous pouvez écrire la première lettre de chaque terme en majuscule ou colorer d'une même couleur les syllabes d'un même terme.]

Indices

Copiez les indices suivants sur une grande feuille de tableau-papier ou photocopiez-les et agrafez-les à chaque fiche-syllabe. Après trois à cinq minutes de jeu, suggérez aux élèves de consulter ces indices pour retrouver les syllabes manquantes.

Activité

  1. Dites aux élèves que cette activité porte sur l'impact qu'ont eu les activités humaines sur l'habitat du coho de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique et que le cumul de ces activités risque d'entraîner la nécessité d'inscrire le coho sur la liste officielle des espèces en voie de disparition
  2. Revoyez le concept et la définition de l'habitat avec les élèves et demandez-leur de donner des exemples d'habitats (encouragez-les à donner des exemples locaux)
  3. Revoyez avec les élèves les stades du cycle biologique du saumon coho; inscrivez au tableau chaque state à mesure qu'il est nommé (vous trouverez cette information dans le document d'information). Mentionnez aux élèves les stades du cycle biologique du saumon, tant en eau douce qu'en eau salée, puis dites-leur que cette leçon portera plus particulièrement sur la dégradation de l'habitat du saumon coho en eau douce. Si vous manquez de temps, essayez néanmoins de revoir l'habitat du coho aux stades de l'oeuf et du géniteur, ceux-ci coïncidant avec le séjour du coho dans les eaux douces du fleuve Fraser
  4. Revoyez les idées principales du chapitre 10 du manuel Science Probe : l'activité humaine a un impact sur les habitats; la perturbation d'un habitat risque de nuire à la survie d'une population animale; les humains peuvent contribuer à la conservation des habitats; nos choix personnels peuvent avoir des effets positifs ou négatifs sur les habitats
  5. Emmenez les élèves dans un endroit ouvert, à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur. Remettez à chacun une carte-syllabe. Donnez aux élèves cinq minutes pour trouver leurs camarades possédant les syllabes dont ils ont besoin pour compléter un mot ou groupe de mots. Chaque mot ou groupe de mots désigne un type d'activité humaine susceptible de causer la disparition de l'habitat du coho : la foresterie, l'agriculture, les prélèvements d'eau, les projets linéaires, l'aménagement urbain, l'aménagement rural et l'exploitation minière. Les groupes d'élèves dont les fiches-syllabes composent un mot ou un groupe de mots désignant une menace pour l'habitat s'assemblent ensuite pour former une équipe
  6. Lorsque les élèves auront trouvé les membres de leur équipe, demandez-leur de s'asseoir en cercle, avec leurs coéquipiers. Demandez aux équipes de dire au reste de la classe le terme qu'ils ont obtenu en combinant leurs syllabes. Inscrivez ces termes sur un tableau-papier ou sur le tableau mural. Dirigez une discussion sur les activités humaines inscrites au tableau et sur les façons dont elles peuvent entraîner la perte d'habitat; offrez de l'information ou posez des questions "orientées" pour bien faire comprendre aux élèves ce que peut représenter la disparition d'habitat pour le saumon coho
  7. À l'aide d'un rétroprojecteur ou d'une grande carte de la C.-B., trouvez le fleuve Fraser, le bassin hydrographique du Fraser et le bassin hydrographique intérieur du fleuve Fraser (en amont de Hell's Gate). Vous pouvez recueillir les termes composés des fiches-syllabes et les coller sur la carte géographique ou sur le tableau mural
  8. Demandez aux élèves de retourner à leur place et de remplir individuellement la feuille intitulée "Jeu des définitions". Selon les compétences de vos élèves en lecture, il se peut que ce jeu leur paraisse décourageant de prime abord; toutefois, des indices sont donnés dans la première ligne de chaque paragraphe. [Remarque : Vous pouvez vous servir de cette feuille pour en faire un transparent et lire à haute voix les définitions aux élèves pendant qu'ils remplissent leur feuille.] 
  9. Dites aux élèves que ces menaces sont bien réelles aujourd'hui pour les saumons coho de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Une équipe de scientifiques (l'Équipe de rétablissement du coho du bassin intérieur du Fraser) a rédigé un rapport offrant des suggestions visant à améliorer l'habitat du saumon coho du Fraser intérieur, afin de faire en sorte de le maintenir hors de la liste des espèces en voie de disparition. Discutez des choix personnels que les élèves peuvent faire pour réduire leur impact sur l'habitat du coho

Évaluation

Vous pouvez utiliser le tableau intitulé "Recherche de solutions à la disparition de l'habitat du saumon coho... " comme outil d'évaluation et ce, de plusieurs façons. Commencez l'exercice en assignant aux élèves une ou deux activités humaines menaçant l'habitat du coho du bassin intérieur du Fraser, ou demandez aux élèves de les choisir eux-mêmes.

  1. En remplissant individuellement ce tableau, les élèves pourront :
    • décrire la source du problème
    • évaluer les répercussions de ce problème sur le saumon coho
    • envisager diverses solutions visant à résoudre le problème de la disparition d'habitat

    Il vous appartient de décider d'utiliser ou non l'information contenue dans le"Jeu des définitions"pour aider les élèves à faire cet exercice.

  2. Les élèves peuvent décrire, individuellement, le(s) problème(s) qu'ils ont choisi(s) ainsi que ses (leurs) répercussions sur le saumon coho. Ils peuvent ensuite, comme travail à faire à la maison, interroger des personnes (amis, parents, autres adultes) et prendre note de leurs suggestions ou solutions possibles. Vous pouvez également vous servir du "Jeu des définitions" comme outil d'évaluation

Documentation à remettre aux élèves

Écris le numéro des activités humaines figurant ci-dessous vis-à-vis de leur description.

Activités humaines

  1. Foresterie
  2. Exploitation minière
  3. Projets linéaires
  4. Aménagement urbain 
  5. Aménagement rural
  6. Prélèvements d'eau
  7. Agriculture
Numéro Description
Il arrive que les gens qui vivent à la campagne déboisent la terre, construisent des bâtiments, assèchent ou remplissent les bassins hydrographiques afin d'aménager un endroit où ils peuvent vivre. Ces changements apportés à l'écopaysage réduisent la quantité de terre propre à l'écoulement des eaux. L'évacuation des eaux usées, l'utilisation de l'eau des lacs ou des cours d'eau et l'altération ou l'élimination de la végétation le long des berges risquent de causer la dégradation de l'habitat du saumon coho. 
Une exploitation trop intensive des arbres dans un bassin hydrographique risque de modifier le débit des cours d'eau qu'on y trouve et d'augmenter l'érosion et la sédimentation. La présence de routes de montagne servant aux véhicules d'exploitation forestière risque de causer des glissements de terrain, de modifier le lit des cours d'eau ou d'augmenter la sédimentation en aval. Ces répercussions risquent de dégrader les habitats de frai et d'alevinage du saumon coho.
On déboise des terres devant servir aux cultures et au pâturage, et des bâtiments y sont construits. Les plantes en bordure des berges disparaissent sous l'assaut des machines ou des animaux de pâturage. La déplantation des berges entraîne une hausse de la température de l'eau, l'envasement des cours d'eau, le changement du lit des cours d'eau et la disparition des abris des animaux aquatiques. Toutes ces répercussions contribuent à la dégradation des habitats de frai et d'alevinage et des voies migratoires du saumon coho.
Dans de nombreuses régions du bassin hydrographique du Fraser intérieur, il existe une forte demande visant l'utilisation et le stockage d'eau destinée à l'irrigation des cultures et à l'hydroélectricité. Le prélèvement des eaux de leurs espaces naturels laisse moins d'eau aux poissons et nuit aux habitats et aux voies migratoires de ceux-ci.
Pour chercher de l'or, il faut souvent utiliser beaucoup d'eau, déplacer le lit des cours d'eau, effectuer des travaux de dragage par succion (retourner le lit des cours d'eau) et évacuer (décharger) les pierres et la poussière tamisées dans les cours d'eau. Il peut également être nécessaire d'utiliser de la machinerie lourde à proximité des cours d'eau. Dans le passé, les activités de prospection aurifère ont causé de grands dommages à l'habitat du coho.
Dans les villes, les édifices et la chaussée recouvrent les surfaces naturelles, et les eaux pluviales collectées s'écoulent dans les voies d'eau avoisinantes. La construction et le paysagement sur les rives risquent de faire disparaître ou de remplacer la végétation riveraine indigène. Les citadins utilisent l'eau des cours d'eau du voisinage à des fins de cuisson, de nettoyage ou d'hygiène, et ces eaux usées retournent dans les voies d'eaux environnantes.
Certaines industries telles que celles qui utilisent les oléoducs et les gazoducs, de même que les chemins de fer, les routes et les autoroutes ainsi que les lignes de transport d'électricité suivent le tracé des cours d'eau. La construction et l'opération de ces infrastructures risquent de dégrader l'habitat des poissons. Les ponts et les ponceaux peuvent constituer des obstacles à la migration des saumons, et peuvent par conséquent limiter l'accès des saumons coho aux habitats de frai et d'alevinage.

Documentation de référence

Bassin hydrographique

Disparition d'habitat

Saumon coho du Fraser intérieur

Cycle biologique du saumon

Situation du saumon coho du bassin intérieur du Fraser (selon COSEPAC)

Situation du saumon coho du bassin intérieur du Fraser (en vertu de la LEP)

Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)

Travailler ensemble pour protéger les espèces aquatiques

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) a pour objet de protéger les espèces sauvages contre le risque de disparition, et pour cela elle prévoit deux grands axes d'action : 

La LEP est entrée en vigueur en juin 2003. Elle prévoit des dispositions interdisant de tuer, de nuire, de harceler, de capturer ou de prendre des individus appartenant à une espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition ainsi que des dispositions interdisant de détruire leur habitat.

Un effort de collaboration

Trois ministères sont directement concernés par la protection des espèces menacées ou en péril : Environnement Canada, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada, ce dernier étant responsable des espèces aquatiques (eaux dulcicoles et eaux marines). Il a été établi dès le départ qu'aucune instance gouvernementale, industrielle ou communautaire ne pouvait à elle seule prendre en charge la protection des espèces canadiennes inscrites sur la liste des espèces en péril. Cet enjeu est l'affaire de tous les acteurs concernés, partout au pays, et la LEP a été conçue pour favoriser les actions de collaboration entre les gouvernement et les intervenants. Chacun peut contribuer à cet effort de collaboration, par exemple en s'informant sur les espèces en péril et en comprenant les facteurs qui sont une source de menace, ou en prenant des moyens concrets pour protéger l'habitat des espèces concernées. 

Quelles sont les modalités d'inscription d'une espèce sur la liste des espèces en péril?

Les espèces sont désignées "en péril" par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), organe indépendant regroupant de nombreux experts et chargé d'évaluer la situation des espèces sauvages sur la base des données scientifiques connues. Il appartient au cabinet fédéral, après consultation avec tous les acteurs concernés, de décider si ces espèces doivent bénéficier de la protection de la LEP. 

Une espèce peut être déclarée comme étant :

Disparue : Espèce qui n'existe plus nulle part sur la planète.

Disparue du Canada : Espèce sauvage qu'on ne trouve plus à l'état sauvage au Canada, mais qu'on trouve ailleurs à l'état sauvage.

En voie de disparition : Espèce sauvage qui, de façon imminente, risque de disparaître du pays ou de la planète.

Espece menacee : Espèce sauvage susceptible de devenir une espèce en voie de disparition si rien n'est fait pour contrer les facteurs menaçant de la faire disparaître.

Espèce Préoccupante : Espèce sauvage qui peut devenir une espèce menacée ou une espèce en voie de disparition par l'effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces signalées à son égard.

Pour plus d'information sur la loi sur les espèces en péril, référez-vous au site http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca 

Carte du bassin hydrographique du fleuve Fraser

Map of the Fraser River Watershed

Outil d'évaluation

La recherche de solutions à la disparition d'habitat du saumon coho dans le fleuve Fraser

Détermine les difficultés auxquelles se heurtent les saumons coho et essaie de trouver des solutions au problème de disparition de leur habitat. Remplis le tableau ci-dessous avec le plus d'information possible. Rédige tes réponses de façon concise, sous forme d'énumération. Essaie d'offrir des solutions commençant par "Je pourrais..."

Problème de disparition d'habitat :

Quelles sont les causes de ce problème de disparition d'habitat?

En quoi ce problème nuit-il au saumon coho?

Quelles solutions permettraient de rétablir cet habitat ou de prévenir sa disparition totale?

Écrit par Dianne Sanford, édité par Elizabeth Leboe, et traduit par Johanne Raynault.