Language selection

Search

Recreational licensing information

General
  • All licences will be delivered electronically through the National Recreational Licensing System (NRLS). Once you register, you will also be able to replace a lost licence or renew future licences through NRLS.
  • Licences can also be purchased through participating Independent Access Providers (IAP). It is recommended that you confirm purchasing your licence with a Provider prior to departure.
  • Only a Canadian resident may fish for halibut under an electronic licence in Areas 121, 23 and 123. Non-residents wishing to fish and retain halibut in Areas 121, 23 and 123, must obtain their licence from a licence vendor in Canada (Independent Access Provider).
  • Refunds will not be issued for purchased licences, so ensure your licence selection (including the fishing year) is correct before you complete your transaction.

Regulations

A Tidal Waters Sport Fishing Licence:

  • is required to fish for any species of finfish or shellfish.
  • is not transferable.
  • does not need to be signed by the licence holder.
  • can be obtained in person; a parent may obtain a licence for a child under age 16; and a licence can be obtained for a spouse.
  • must be produced on request by a fishery officer, conservation officer or fishery guardian, so ensure you have your licence with you while fishing or transporting your catch.
  • The licence holder shall record immediately and permanently on this licence all retained Chinook and halibut caught in any Management Area and lingcod caught in Areas 12 to 19 (excluding Subarea 12-14), Subareas 20-5 to 20-7 and 29-5
  • The licence holder’s current licence and all catch records must be available for immediate inspection upon request of a fishery officer or fisheries guardian.
  • Children under 16 years old are required to obtain a licence, however there is no fee.
  • Annual licences are valid from date shown on the licence to the following March 31. Licences of a shorter duration expire at midnight on the final day of validity.
  • It is illegal to hold more than one licence.
Halibut restriction for non-residents

Halibut electronic licence restriction for non-residents

Only a Canadian resident may fish for halibut under an electronic licence in Areas 121, 23 and 123. Non-residents wishing to fish and retain halibut in Areas 121, 23 and 123, must obtain their licence from a licence vendor in Canada (Independent Access Provider).

Salmon fishing licence and conservation stamp

Tidal water recreational fishers of all ages are required to obtain and have in their possession a valid British Columbia Tidal Waters Sport Fishing Licence prior to angling for salmon in tidal waters. Anglers intending to retain salmon caught in tidal waters must also purchase a salmon conservation stamp and have it affixed to their licence. This stamp is not required if anglers intend to release all salmon caught.

Anglers over the age of 16 years are required to obtain and have in their possession a valid provincial Angling Licence to fish for salmon in non-tidal waters of the province. A salmon conservation stamp is also required if anglers intend to retain any salmon caught. This stamp is not required if anglers intend to release all salmon caught in non-tidal waters.

Anglers under the age of 16 years do not require a licence to fish in non-tidal waters.

Salmon conservation stamp

An annually-purchased Salmon Conservation Stamp must be affixed to licences held by anglers, both adult and juvenile, wishing to retain any species of Pacific salmon.

Each year, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) works with the Pacific Salmon Foundation to produce the Salmon Conservation Stamp. An angler wishing to retain any species of salmon must purchase and attach a conservation stamp to their licence. DFO provides all of the funds generated from stamp sales to the Pacific Salmon Foundation to support salmon restoration, stewardship and enhancement projects in British Columbia.The Pacific Salmon Foundation is the largest non-profit, charitable organization dedicated to conserving and rebuilding Pacific salmon populations. The Foundation works in partnership with volunteer streamkeepers and community organizations to leverage the benefits of every dollar generated through the Salmon Conservation Stamp.

Salmon Conservation Stamp image is also used as an additional fundraising source by producing Limited Edition art prints. Prints are sold through the Foundation and can be viewed on their website. Donations in support of Pacific Salmon Foundation's work can also be made by contacting the Foundation. For more information on how to purchase the Limited Edition art prints or donate to the Foundation, call 604-664-7664 or visit the Pacific Salmon Foundation website.

For technical issues such as printing your licence, please email us at fishing-peche@dfo-mpo.gc.ca or call us at 1-877-535-7307.

Replacement Licences

If you lose or accidentally destroy your licence you may print a replacement licence for free online, or by visiting an Independent Public Access provider who can reprint your licence for you. The record of catch that was on the previous licence must be transferred to the replacement licence. It is illegal to hold more than one valid licence.

Independent Access Providers
Licensing contacts
By phone
(toll-free):
1-877-535-7307
By email:
fishing-peche@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
By fax:
604-666-5855
Date modified:

Renseignements concernant le permis de pêche récréative

Rappels utiles
  • Tous les permis seront octroyés de façon électronique par le biais du Système national de permis de pêche récréative. Dès l'inscription, vous serez également en mesure de remplacer les permis de pêche perdus ou de renouveler votre permis par le biais du système.
  • Les permis sont également disponibles auprès des Fournisseurs d’accès indépendants (FAI) participants. Il est recommandé de contacter le fournisseur pour confirmer l'achat de votre permis avant de vous y rendre.
  • Seuls les résidents canadiens peuvent pêcher le flétan avec un permis électronique dans les zones 121, 23 et 123. Les non-résidents du Canada souhaitant pêcher et retenir un flétan dans les secteurs 121, 23 et 123 doivent se procurer leur permis auprès d'un Fournisseur d'accès indépendant canadien.
  • Veuillez vous assurer de choisir le permis approprié (et en vérifier l'année) avant de compléter votre transaction, car aucun remboursement ne sera fourni en cas d'erreur.

Règlements

Un permis de pêche en eaux à marées :

  • est requis pour pêcher toute espèce de poisson ou de crustacés;
  • n’est pas transférable;
  • n'a pas besoin d'être signé par le titulaire du permis;
  • peut être obtenu en personne, par un parent pour un enfant de moins de 16 ans ou pour un conjoint;
  • doit être produit sur demande par un agent des pêches, un agent de conservation ou un garde-pêche, donc assurez-vous de porter votre permis quand vous pêchez ou que vous transportez vos prises;
  • Lorsque vous achetez votre permis en ligne, vous devez imprimer votre permis et l'avoir en votre possession quand vous pêchez.
  • Toutes les prises de saumon quinnat, de morue-lingue et de flétan doivent être consignées à l'encre sur votre permis.
  • Les enfants (de moins de 16 ans) peuvent obtenir un permis gratuitement.
  • Les permis annuels sont valides à compter de leur date d’émission jusqu’au 31 mars suivant. Les permis de courte durée expirent à minuit, le dernier jour de leur durée de validité.
  • Il est illégal d’avoir plus d’un permis en sa possession.
Restriction de flétan pour les non-résidents

Restriction relative au permis électronique de pêche au flétan pour les non-résidents

Seuls les résidents canadiens peuvent pêcher le flétan avec un permis électronique dans les zones 121, 23 et 123. Les non-résidents du Canada qui souhaitent pêcher et conserver du flétan dans les zones de gestion 121, 23 et 123 doivent acheter un permis électronique auprès d'un fournisseur d'accès indépendant canadien.

Les permis de pêche et les timbres de protection du saumon

Avant l'aller à la pêche au saumon en eaux maréales, les amateurs de pêche (tous âges confondus) doivent obligatoirement se procurer et avoir en leur possession un permis de pêche sportive dans les eaux à marée de la Colombie-Britannique. Et ceux qui veulent conserver leurs prises doivent également se procurer un timbre de conservation du saumon qu'ils doivent obligatoirement apposer sur leur permis. Le timbre n'est pas requis si le pêcheur a l'intention de relâcher ses prises.

Les amateurs de pêche de plus de 16 ans doivent se procurer et avoir en leur possession un permis de pêche provincial valide pour être autorisés à pêcher le saumon dans les eaux non maréales de la province. Un timbre de conservation du saumon est également requis pour pouvoir garder des prises de saumon. Ce timbre n'est pas requis dans le cas où le pêcheur prévoit relâcher tous les saumons qu'il capturera en eaux non maréales.

Les amateurs de pêche de moins de 16 ans ne sont pas tenus d'avoir un permis pour pêcher dans les eaux non maréales. Pour

Timbre de protection du saumon

Les pêcheurs sportifs (adultes et jeunes) qui désirent conserver des saumons du Pacifique doivent se procurer un timbre de protection du saumon (6,13 $ + taxes) et l’apposer sur leur permis.

Chaque année, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), collabore avec la Fondation du saumon du Pacifique pour produire le timbre de protection du saumon. Un pêcheur récréatif qui souhaite conserver une espèce de saumon doit acheter le timbre et l'apposer sur son permis de pêche. Le MPO verse tous les fonds provenant de la vente des timbres à la Fondation du saumon du Pacifique pour appuyer les projets de rétablissement, d'intendance et de mise en valeur en Colombie-Britannique. La Fondation du saumon du Pacifique est le plus important organisme caritatif sans but lucratif ayant pour objet de protéger et de rebâtir les populations de saumons du Pacifique La Fondation travaille en partenariat avec des gardiens de cours d'eau et des organisations communautaires bénévoles pour maximiser les avantages de chaque dollar recueilli par la vente du timbre de protection du saumon.

L'image du timbre de protection du saumon est une autre source de financement obtenue par la vente d'éditions limitées de reproductions artistiques. Les reproductions sont vendues par l'intermédiaire de la Fondation et sont exposées sur son site Web. Pour plus d'informations sur la manière d'acheter les tirages d'art en édition limitée ou de faire un don à la Fondation, appelez le 604-664-7664 ou visitez le site web de la Fondation du saumon du Pacifique.

Pour les questions techniques telles que l'impression de votre licence, veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à fishing-peche@dfo-mpo.gc.ca ou nous appeler au 1-877-535-7307.

Permis de remplacement

Si vous perdez votre permis ou le détruisez accidentellement, vous pouvez imprimer gratuitement un permis de remplacement en ligne ou vous rendre chez un fournisseur d'accès public indépendant qui vous réimprimera votre permis. Le dossier des prises de l'ancien permis doit être transféré au permis de remplacement. Il est illégal de détenir plus d'un permis valide.

Fournisseurs d'accès indépendants

Information : Êtes-vous un fournisseur d’accès indépendant ou un fournisseur de renseignements concernant les permis de pêche?

Téléchargez ces documents d'information publique utiles concernant le Système national de permis de pêche récréative (tous les documents sont en format PDF) :

Contacts permis
Téléphone
(sans frais) :
1-877-535-7307
Courriel :
fishing-peche@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Télécopieur :
604-666-5855