Shellfish harvesting information

General reminders

Eating contaminated shellfish can be life threatening!

Always check marine biotoxin and sanitary contamination closures for the area where you are harvesting. Closures change frequently throughout the year. It is illegal to harvest shellfish from closed or contaminated areas.

Maa-nulth Treaty Lands

In 2006, the governments of Canada and British Columbia signed an historic agreement with the Maa-nulth First Nations. In accordance with that agreement, some sites in Area 23 and Area 26 are restricted to shellfish harvesting by Maa-nulth Treaty members only.

Fishing gear

Bait:

  • Only fish offal, herring, mackerel, northern anchovy and Pacific sardine may be used as bait. No other finfish may be used as bait

Lines, traps, buoys:

marked buoy
  • All shellfish traps must be marked with a floating tag or buoy that has your name on it
  • Use highly visible buoys, large enough to stay afloat in tides and currents in your fishing area. Only one name can appear on the buoy attached to your trap(s). Names and phone numbers must be legible and visible (at least 7.5 cm high)
  • Do not use: gear marked with another fisher’s name. Avoid plastic jugs, bottles and Styrofoam blocks that may deteriorate or sink, or are hard to see or mark
  • Navigation channels must be kept clear of lines and buoys. Use sinking line and/or weights, or coil excess line to keep it below the surface during all tide levels without sinking the buoy. Any fishing gear that interferes with safe navigation can be removed under the Navigation Protection Act
  • Be aware of hook and line, downrigger and trap gear entanglement risks in the vicinity of the UVIC Venus project in Pat Bay, Saanich Inlet. For more information, visit: http://www.oceannetworks.ca/installations/notice-mariners
  • You may use mechanical devices to recover your traps
  • You may set multiple traps on a single ground line following the line and marking requirements outlined in the table below:
Weighted line

Prevent gear entanglement

Make sure your buoy line doesn’t float and become tangled in boaters’ props. Either use sinking line or, if you use floating line, attach a weight to keep the extra line under the water at all tide levels (without sinking the buoy).

Line and marking requirements for combining traps
Single trap 1 floating tag or buoy that has your name on it.
Two traps Single ground line marked with 1 floating tag or buoy that has your name on it.
Three traps or more
Note: Max. 2 traps for crab harvesting
Single ground line. Both ends of the ground line require a floating tag or buoy that has your name on it.

Notes on specific shellfish

Clam

  • It is illegal to use any mechanical apparatus or dredge for harvesting clams
  • Clam harvesters are encouraged to fill in holes to reduce predation on exposed juvenile clams

Crab

Octopus

  • You are not allowed to use sharp-pointed instruments, snares, hand pumps or chemicals to harvest octopus

Shrimp and Prawn

Maximum number of prawn traps = 4

Maximum number of traps = 4

The maximum number of shrimp and prawn traps you can fish is four (4 traps or 4 ring nets, or a combination of these).

  • When you set your traps remember that your daily catch limit is not a fishing target and prawns are seasonally variable and short-lived. Take only what you need
  • You may harvest shrimp only by means of traps, ring nets, or spear while diving
  • A maxiumum of 4 traps is allowed on a single ground line with a floating tag or buoy required at both ends
  • 2 cm (3/4 in) mesh, or 2.5 cm (1 in.) from knot to knot, will catch a good size range of prawns and allow smaller prawns to easily escape
  • You should use rot cord on all prawn traps (this recommendation may soon become a requirement). Create an opening in the top or side wall of your trap that can be sewn shut with a single strand of untreated cotton twine no greater than #120. The opening should be large enough so that if the trap is lost and the twine rots, captive prawns are able to escape
  • Hauling your gear slowly allows smaller prawns and bycatch to exit before traps are brought on board
Catch handling

Check all your gear carefully and remove and release all bycatch. You must release incidental catch alive, to the place where you caught it, in a way that causes the least harm to the fish.

Crab

Prawn

  • For conservation purposes, fishers are asked to voluntarily release prawns carrying eggs under their tail (egg-bearing females) and smaller prawns
  • Many rockfish populations are depressed and must be released from prawn traps
Packaging and transporting

Warning

Do not hang your bivalve shellfish off docks, or off the side of a vessel where travelling, as the waters you are in could be contaminated.

Bivalve shellfish

  • Bivalve shellfish that you harvest may be shucked or cooked while you’re in the field (e.g., on a beach). However, they must stay in a condition that makes them easy to count and identify until they arrive at your ordinary residence

Crab

  • So that the size of your crab can be checked, the shell of any sport-caught crab must stay attached to the body until the crab is eaten or arrives at your ordinary residence

Labelling your container or cooler

  • When individuals are transporting or shipping catch they must package their catch separately and only have one name per package. However, they may share a container. It is recommended that the contents (number of fish, species, and number of packages) be listed on the outside of the container to facilitate inspection
  • It is recommended that you store and transport your catch in containers and packages intended for food
Prawn - best practices
  • Expect biological monitoring and respect seasonal and area closures in the spring during the commercial fishery and again in the fall/winter during spawning season
  • Seasonal, biological sampling is an important practice used to determine that there are enough spawning females in the population in any given area. Even when male prawns are abundant, an area may be closed due to a lower count of spawning females
  • Winter is when the highest number of spawning females are present. During this time recreational harvesters are encouraged to respect area closures or, if areas are open, to protect egg-bearing females by returning them to the water in support of future stock strength.

What to expect?

Expect a variety of prawn life stages every season

Wild prawns are a short-lived, complex species. As part of their reproductive process prawns transition from male to female halfway through their 4-year lifecycle. Pacific prawn fisheries are seasonally monitored and managed for population health to ensure sustainable fishing opportunities for all licenced prawn harvesters throughout the region.

When it comes to prawn fishing there is no such thing as "an average condition of abundance". Every season marks a new life stage and environmental conditions that impact survival, stock strength and what you can expect to see in the water or inside your trap. One thing is certain: count on a variable mix of life stages and catch success every season, area to area, year over year, throughout the region.

Seasonal monitoring and pulse fishing

In Saanich Inlet, Stuart Channel and Alberni Inlet, “pulse” fishing (closed in the first half of the month and open in the second half of the month) may be implemented after Labour Day weekend to increase prawn escapement and prawn abundance. Closures may be implemented January 1 to March 31 in waters around Quadra and Cortes Islands; the communities of Powell River and Lund; Sechelt and Salmon Inlets; Malaspina and lower Jervis Straits, Stuart Channel, Saanich Inlet, Alberni Inlet, Tahsis Inlet, Muchalat Inlet and Howe Sound, to allow the prawn spawning cycle to complete. Confirmation of these closures are made in-season. Read our Q&A on prawn and shrimp pulse fishing for more information.

Informational posters for Recreational Prawn Fishers

What you can expect to see What's important this season
Spring (Apr-June)
New Season
  • Larval stage
  • 1- & 2-year-old males prominent
  • Gender transitions
  • 3-year-old females
New lifecycle begins. New larvae may not be visible but they live in the upper water column for up to 3 months as they settle to the ocean floor. Once settled, they mature as males for the first two years of life. Larvae distribution is dependent upon tides and currents, which means that each local area will have different adult prawn abundance from year to year
Summer (July-Sept)
Breeding Season
  • 1- & 2-year-old males prominent
  • 3-year-old females
After an 8-month male-to-female gender transition period, newly transitioned 3-year-old females will breed with younger, 1- and 2-year-old males.
Fall (Oct-Dec)
Spawning Season
  • 1- & 2-year-old males
  • 3-year-old females with eggs prominent
Spawning starts in October. Large, mature, egg-bearing females increase in prominence and seasonal closures will be in effect to protect them.
Winter (Jan-Mar)
Egg Season
  • 1- & 2-year-old males
  • 3-year-old females with eggs prominent
  • Gender transitions
Winter closures will be in effect to protect large, mature, egg-bearing females as their eggs prepare to hatch before the 4-year lifecycle ends.

Renseignements sur la récolte de mollusques

Rappels utiles

Manger des mollusques contaminés peut causer la mort!

Vérifiez toujours les données sur les biotoxines marines et les fermetures pour cause de contamination sanitaire pour le secteur où vous pêchez. Les fermetures changent fréquemment tout au long de l'année. Il est illégal de pêcher des mollusques et crustacés dans des zones fermées ou contaminées.

Notes sur certains mollusques et crustacés

  • La pêche de l’ormeau, une espèce en péril en Colombie-Britannique, est interdite. Toutes les zones sont fermées à des fins de conservation
  • Il est illégal de conserver des huîtres plates du Pacifique
  • Be aware of permanent prawn closures in glass sponge reefs and some marine protected areas

Terres visées par le traité Maa-nulth

En 2006, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique ont signé un accord historique avec les Premières Nations Maa-nulth. Selon les termes de l’accord, les secteurs de récolte de bivalves intertidaux de secteur 23 et secteur 26 sont mis en réserve strictement aux fins d'utilisation par les membres des Premières nations Maa-nulth.

Engins de pêche

Appâts :

  • Seuls les déchets de poisson, de hareng, de maquereau, d’anchois du Pacifique et de sardine peuvent servir d’appât. Aucun autre poisson à nageoires ne peut être utilisé comme appât.

Lignes, casiers et bouées:

bouée marqué
  • Tous les casiers utilisés pour pêcher des mollusques et crustacés doivent être marqués avec un flotteur ou une bouée portant votre nom
  • Utilisez des bouées très visibles, suffisamment grandes pour rester à flot dans les marées et les courants dans votre zone de pêche. La bouée attachée à vos casiers ne doit afficher qu’un seul nom. Les noms et les numéros de téléphone doivent être lisibles et visibles (d’une hauteur d’au moins 7,5 cm)
  • N’utilisez pas d’engin de pêche portant le nom d’un autre pêcheur. Évitez les contenants en plastique, les bouteilles et les blocs de styromousse qui peuvent se détériorer ou couler, ou qui sont difficiles à voir ou à marquer
  • Aucune ligne et aucune bouée ne doit se trouver dans les chenaux de navigation. Utilisez des lignes coulantes ou des poids, ou enroulez la ligne excédentaire afin qu’elle demeure sous la surface de l’eau pendant la marée, sans toutefois couler la bouée. Les engins de pêche qui empêchent la navigation sécuritaire des bateaux peuvent être retirés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de la navigation
  • Soyez conscient des risques d’emmêlement des hameçons, des lignes, du lest automatique et des casiers à proximité du projet Venus de l’Université de Victoria à Pat Bay, dans le bras de mer Saanich. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site : http://www.oceannetworks.ca/installations/notice-mariners
  • Vous pouvez vous servir d’appareils mécaniques pour récupérer vos casiers
  • Vous pouvez placer plusieurs casiers sur une seule ligne de fond en respectant les exigences relatives à la ligne et au marquage présentées dans le tableau ci-dessous
attachez des poids à votre ligne

Prévenir l’enchevêtrement dans les engins de pêche

Assurez-vous que votre ligne de bouée ne flotte pas, sinon elle pourrait s’emmêler dans l’hélice d’un bateau. Utilisez des lignes coulantes ou attachez des poids à votre ligne si elle flotte de manière à ce qu’elle reste sous l’eau, quel que soit le niveau de la marée, sans toutefois couler la bouée.

Exigences relatives à la ligne et au marquage lorsque plusieurs casiers sont combinés
Un seul casier Un flotteur ou une bouée portant votre nom.
Deux casiers Une seule ligne de fond marquée avec un flotteur ou une bouée portant votre nom.
Trois casiers ou plus
Remarque : Un maximum de deux casiers pour la pêche au crabe,
Une seule ligne de fond. Les deux extrémités de la ligne de fond doivent être munies d’un flotteur ou d’une bouée portant votre nom.

Notes sur certains mollusques et crustacés

Palourdes

  • Il est interdit de se servir d’appareils mécaniques ou de drainage pour cueillir les palourdes
  • Les pêcheurs de palourdes sont invités à remplir les trous afin de limiter l’exposition des palourdes juvéniles aux prédateurs

Crabe

Pieuvre

  • Vous n’êtes pas autorisé à utiliser des instruments pointus, des collets, des pompes manuelles ou des produits chimiques pour pêcher la pieuvre

Crevettes

  • Lorsque vous placez vos casiers, rappelez-vous que la limite de prises quotidienne n’est pas un objectif de pêche et que les crevettes varient selon la saison et ont une durée de vie très courte. Ne prélevez que la quantité dont vous avez besoin
  • Vous pouvez pêcher la crevette uniquement à l’aide de casiers, de bolinches ou de harpons (en plongée)
  • Vous pouvez utiliser un maximum de 4 casiers à crevettes (quatre casiers ou bolinches, ou une combinaison des deux)
  • Un maximum de 4 casiers est autorisé sur une seule ligne de fond et un flotteur ou une bouée doit être installé aux deux extrémités
  • Un filet à mailles de 2 cm (3/4 po) à 2,5 cm (1 po) de nœud à nœud permet de capturer des crevettes de différentes tailles et permet aux petites crevettes de s’échapper facilement
  • Vous devriez utiliser une attache biodégradable sur tous les casiers à crevettes (cette recommandation pourrait bientôt devenir une obligation). Créez sur le dessus ou sur un côté de votre casier une ouverture qui pourra être cousue avec un brin unique de ficelle de coton non traité d’un diamètre maximal no 120. L’ouverture devrait être suffisamment grande pour que, si vous perdez le casier, les crevettes captives puissent s’échapper lorsque la ficelle pourrit
  • Tirez votre engin lentement pour permettre aux petites crevettes et aux prises accessoires de s’échapper pendant la remontée
Manipulation des prises

Vérifiez votre équipement avec soin et retirez et rejetez toute prise accessoire. Vous devez remettre en liberté toute prise accidentelle vivante, à l’endroit où vous l’avez prise, d’une façon qui causera le moins de dommage au poisson.

Mollusques bivalves

  • Ne suspendez jamais de mollusques bivalves sur les quais ou sur le flanc d’un bateau pendant que vous naviguez. Vous risqueriez de contaminer l’eau.

Crabe

Crevette

  • Pour des raisons de conservation, on demande aux pêcheurs de relâcher volontairement les crevettes portant des œufs sous la queue (femelles œuvées) et les petites crevettes
  • Comme de nombreuses populations de sébaste sont en déclin, les poissons pris dans les casiers à crevettes doivent être remis à l’eau
Emballage et transport

Avertissement

Ne suspendez jamais vos mollusques bivalves sur les quais ou sur le flanc d’un bateau pendant que vous naviguez, car les eaux dans lesquelles vous vous trouvez pourraient être contaminées.

Mollusques bivalves

  • Les mollusques bivalves que vous pêchez peuvent être écaillés ou cuits sur place (p. ex., sur une plage). Cependant, ils doivent demeurer dans un état permettant de les dénombrer et de les identifier facilement lorsque vous les transportez à votre lieu de résidence habituel

Crabe

  • Afin que la taille de votre crabe puisse être vérifiée, la carapace de tout crabe pêché de manière récréative doit rester attachée au corps du crustacé jusqu’à sa consommation ou à son arrivée à votre lieu de résidence habituel

Étiquetage des contenants ou glacières

  • Lorsqu’une personne transporte ou expédie du poisson, elle doit emballer ses prises séparément et ne mentionner qu’un nom par emballage. Il est toutefois possible de partager un contenant. On recommande également de mentionner le contenu (nombre de poissons, espèces et nombre d’emballages) sur une étiquette à l’extérieur du contenant pour en faciliter l’inspection
  • On recommande d’entreposer et de transporter les prises dans des contenants et des emballages destinées à l’alimentation
Crevettes : fermetures saisonnières

Ces renseignements sont fournis à titre de référence seulement

Assurez-vous de toujours vérifier si des règlements ou des restrictions s'appliquent à l'endroit où vous vous apprêtez à pêcher avant de vous y rendre. Les dates de fermeture prévues peuvent changer ou ne pas refléter les règlements en cours.

Fermetures saisonnières pour les crevettes

Les décisions sont prises en cours de saison. Au printemps et à l'automne, nous prélevons des échantillons pour vérifier si le volume de femelles en frai est suffisant. Les décisions relatives aux fermetures de pêche sont prises en fonction des résultats de cet échantillonnage. Inscrivez-vous au système d'avis de pêche pour recevoir des mises à jour par courriel.

Fermetures hivernales

Les zones ci-dessous sont fermées du 1er janvier au 31 mars 2018, et rouvrent le 1er avril. Ces fermetures hivernales de trois mois permettent de protéger les femelles œuvées de grande taille alors que leurs œufs sont sur le point d'éclore.

Dans le chenal Stuart et les bras de mer Saanich, la « pêche pulsatoire » continue (la pêche est fermée durant la première moitié du mois et ouverte durant la deuxième moitié). Lisez notre Foire aux questions sur la pêche pulsatoire à la crevette pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Les sous-secteurs 17-6 et 19-8 à 19-12 inclusivement sont fermés durant les périodes suivantes :

  • Du 1er au 15 janvier 2018
  • Du 1er au 15 février 2018
  • Du 1er au 15 mars 2018

AP1257 Début de la pêche pulsatoire d'hiver est le 1er janvier 2018.

Fermetures printanières

La pêche à la crevette est fermée pendant une semaine en mai pendant que nous effectuons des tests sur l'indice des géniteurs dans les zones suivantes :

Carte : Bras de mer Saanich

Bras de mer Saanich

sous-secteurs 19-7 à 19-12

Carte : Bras de mer Alberni

Bras de mer Alberni

sous-secteurs 23-1 à 23-3

Début de la pêche pulsatoire d'automne

Dans le chenal Stuart et les bras de mer Saanich et Alberni, la « pêche pulsatoire » commence le lendemain de la fête du Travail (la pêche est fermée durant la première moitié du mois et ouverte durant la deuxième moitié). Lisez notre Foire aux questions sur la pêche pulsatoire à la crevette pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Carte : Bras de mer Saanich

Bras de mer Saanich

sous-secteurs 19-7 à 19-12

Carte : Bras de mer Alberni

Bras de mer Alberni

sous-secteurs 23-1 à 23-3

Les sous-secteurs 17-5, 17-6, 17-9 et 19-7 à 19-12 et 23-1 à 23-3 sont fermés durant les périodes suivantes :

  • Du lendemain de la fête du Travail jusqu'au 15 septembre
  • Du 1er au 15 octobre
  • Du 1er au 15 novembre
  • Du 1er au 15 décembre
  • La « pêche pulsatoire » peut se poursuivre du 1er janvier au 31 mars, selon les résultats des tests sur l'indice des géniteurs qui sont effectués à l'automne.