Necropsy results: Southern Resident Killer Whale J34

An approximately 18 year old male killer whale, identified as J34 was found dead near Sechelt, BC on December 20th, 2016. J34 was a Southern Resident killer whale, a population listed as endangered under the Species at Risk Act in Canada. A necropsy was performed to determine the cause of the animal’s death.

The examination indicated that the animal had injuries consistent with blunt trauma to the dorsal side, and a hematoma indicating that it was alive at the time of injury and would have survived the initial trauma for a period of time prior to death. Based on qualitative assessment, the animal was considered in moderate to good body condition and there were no apparent lesions or abnormalities which may have predisposed this animal to injury. Representative tissues have been collected for additional testing.

We would like to acknowledge the Sechelt First Nation, whose efforts and collaboration were central to locating the animal and facilitating a successful necropsy. We would also like to thank the BC Ministry of Agriculture (and in particular, Dr. Stephen Raverty, Veterinary Pathologist who performed the necropsy exam), Vancouver Aquarium staff, as well as numerous dedicated DFO staff and biologists.

The results of J34’s necropsy will feed into a growing body of knowledge to assist in assessing the threats to Southern Resident killer whales from a population health perspective. This data allows us to look at trends, pathogens, or other indicators that may affect their survival.

Les résultats de la nécropsie : Épaulard J34 de la population résidante du sud

Un épaulard mâle d'environ 18 ans désigné J34 a été retrouvé mort près de Sechelt (Colombie-Britannique), le 20 décembre 2016. J34 était un épaulard résidant du sud, d'une population inscrite comme étant « en voie de disparition » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril au Canada. Une autopsie a été réalisée pour déterminer la cause du décès de l’animal.

L’examen a révélé que l’animal présentait des lésions suggérant un traumatisme contondant à la face dorsale et un hématome indiquant qu’il était en vie au moment de la blessure et qu’il aurait survécu au traumatisme initial pendant un certain temps avant sa mort. Sur la base d'une évaluation qualitative, l'animal a été considéré en bonne condition physique et ne présentait aucune lésion ni aucune anomalie apparente pouvant avoir prédisposé cet animal à une blessure. Des tissus spécifiques ont été recueillis pour des tests supplémentaires.

Nous souhaite remercier la Première Nation Sechelt, dont les efforts et la collaboration ont été au cœur de la découverte de l'animal et ont permis de procéder à une autopsie réussie. Nous aimerions aussi remercier le ministère de l'Agriculture de la Colombie-Britannique (et, en particulier, Stephen Raverty, pathologiste vétérinaire qui a effectué la nécropsie), le personnel de l'Aquarium de Vancouver, ainsi que tous les employés et biologistes dévoués de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Les résultats de la nécropsie de l'épaulard J34 viennent s'ajouter à un corpus de connaissances toujours plus complet, qui aide à évaluer les menaces qui pèsent sur les épaulards résidants du sud, du point de vue de la santé de la population. Ces données nous permettent d'étudier les tendances, les pathogènes et d'autres indicateurs qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur leur survie.