First Nations, recreational & commercial salmon licensing

Contact us

Contact the Pacific Fisheries Licensing Unit at 200-401 Burrard Street, Vancouver BC, V6C 3S4. 1-877-535-7307.

First Nations salmon licensing

First Nations salmon licensing

Fisheries for food, social and ceremonial (FSC) purposes are authorized by a Communal Licence issued to individual First Nations organizations by Fisheries and Oceans Canada under the Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations. Communal licences specify various conditions such as species, quantity, methods, location, and times. There are four general FSC licence categories:

  1. Single Species: Issued for a single species, typically salmon. It is used to licence all fisheries on the Fraser River.
  2. Multi-Species: Uses separate schedules to licence a number of different species, for example salmon, herring, and shellfish. Typically it is used for coastal fisheries.
  3. Dry Rack: Issued to individuals of First Nations who have historically air dried fish, have appropriate fishing and drying sites, and erect drying structures along the Fraser River. The fish are dried or canned.
  4. Ceremonial: May be issued when local stocks cannot support an open fishery but may support limited effort. It is intended to allow fishing for ceremonial purposes only. Ceremonial licences are used almost exclusively in the lower Fraser River.

Communal commercial licences are issued to First Nations organizations for participation in the general commercial fishery, pursuant to the Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations, these licences were originally retired under the Aboriginal Fishery Strategy Licence Retirement/Allocation Transfer Program. When issued as Commercial Communal licences, the licences have the same capacity as before retirement. Since the program's inception in 1994, approximately 87 commercial salmon licences have been retired from the regular commercial fishery and new licences issued to First Nations organizations.

ESSR licences may be issued for identified salmon surpluses in various areas.

Recreational salmon licensing

Recreational salmon licensing

Tidal water recreational fishers of all ages are required to obtain and have in their possession a valid British Columbia Tidal Waters Sport Fishing Licence prior to angling for salmon in tidal waters. Anglers intending to retain salmon caught in tidal waters must also purchase a salmon conservation stamp and have it affixed to their licence. This stamp is not required if anglers intend to release all salmon caught.

The stamp was developed by the Pacific Salmon Foundation and Fisheries and Oceans Canada in 1988/89. The Pacific Salmon Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to salmon restoration. A portion of the revenues received from the sale of the conservation stamp is endowed to the Foundation to fund salmon restoration projects.

Since 1994, there has been a general decline in the number of Tidal water sport fishing licenses and salmon conservation stamps sold. The number of Tidal water licenses sold to Residents and Non-Residents of Canada decreased from 400,000 in 1994 to 326,000 in 2004. Salmon conservation stamp sales have decreased from approximately 320,000 in 1994 to approximately 236,000 in 2004.

Statistics on recreational licences and licence vendors

Anglers over the age of 16 years are required to obtain and have in their possession a valid provincial Angling Licence to fish for salmon in non-tidal waters of the province. A salmon conservation stamp is also required if anglers intend to retain any salmon caught. This stamp is not required if anglers intend to release all salmon caught in non-tidal waters.

Anglers under the age of 16 years do not require a licence to fish in non-tidal waters.

Information on BC freshwater sport fishing licences

Commercial salmon licensing

Commercial salmon licensing

Commercial salmon - licence categories

Commercial salmon fishing is authorized by issuance of a category "A", "N" or "F" licence. The majority of commercial salmon licence eligibilities are category "A" vessel based, i.e. issued to a vessel. Salmon is a limited entry commercial fishery. There are full and reduced fee Category A licence eligibilities. Reduced fee licence eligibilities are held by vessels owned by an Aboriginal who has elected to pay a lower annual fee. Where this election has been made, the lower fee applies in all years after and therefore only an Aboriginal may own the vessel.

Category N licence eligibilities are party based, i.e. issued only to the Northern Native Fishing Corporation for vessels designated by the corporation. There are 254 "N" licence eligibilities, the majority of which are Area C gillnet.  

Category F (Communal Commercial ) licence eligibilities are party based and issued under the Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations. They are allocated to First Nations under the Allocation Transfer Program and First Nations must designate vessels to hold "F" licences.

Salmon licences that are placed on vessels with other vessel based licence eligibilities are considered tied to the other vessel based licence eligibilities on the vessel and may not be separated except where the Integated Fishery Management Plan (IFMP) for a species allows.

Under policy, all salmon licence eligibilities must be applied for annually by the renewal date and the applicable fee paid as set out in the Schedule II (section 19) Pacific Fishery Regulations, 1993, in order to maintain eligibility.  

Effective in 2002, the salmon licence year became April 1, to March 31. All vessels licensed to fish for commercial salmon are also authorized to fish for Schedule II, category "C" species and to undertake transporting activities. Vessel owners who wish to fish for Schedule II category "C" species, or transport fish prior to the availability of commercial salmon licences, may apply for a Schedule II special Issue "CA" licence. Upon issuance of salmon licences, the special issue "CA" licence must be returned.

Salmon licence fees were last adjusted in 1998. All commercial licence fees are set out in Schedule II (section 19) Pacific Fishery Regulations, 1993.

Commercial salmon licence fee schedule

Vessels under 9.14m Vessels over 9.14m Seine Vessels
Reduced fee $380.00 $650.00 $2670.00
Full fee $430.00 $710.00 $3880.00

Area licensing, single-gear licensing and stacking

In 1996, permanent gear choice, area selection and licence stacking were introduced. Permanent gear choice meant that each salmon licence eligibility would be restricted to either seine, gillnet or troll fishing for the future.

Area selection meant that vessel owners/licence eligibility holders selected one area to fish for a period of four years. Area licensing divided the coast into two areas for seine gear, three areas for gillnet and three areas for troll. In 2000, the department reaffirmed its commitment to area licensing as a long term feature of commercial salmon management. A six year voluntary area selection occurred prior to the 2000 fishery and these selections remain in place through the 2005 season. The existing number of areas and the area boundaries remain as previously established except for a change to troll area boundaries.

Area A Areas 1 to 10 and Subarea 101-7 (Salmon Seine - North Coast)
Area B Areas 11 to 29 and 121 (Salmon Seine - South Coast)
Area C Areas 1 to 10 and Subarea 101-7 (Salmon Gill net - North Coast)
Area D Areas 11 to 15 and 23 to 27 (Salmon Gill net - South Coast)
Area E Areas 16 to 22, 28, 29 and 121 (Salmon Gill net - South Coast)
Area F Areas 1 to 10, 101 to 110, 130 and 142 (Salmon Troll - North Coast)
Area G Areas 11, 20 to 27, 111, 121, 123 to 127 (Salmon Troll - WCVI/Q.C. Sound/Strait)
Area H Areas 12 to 19, 28 and 29 (Salmon Troll - Johnstone/Georgia St)

Licence stacking allowed vessel owners to combine different gear and area licence eligibilities onto one vessel by permanently "stacking " additional salmon licences from other vessels onto their vessel. Different gear and area licences can be combined on one vessel. A vessel may not hold more than one licence for the same area.

A single salmon licence eligibility may be stacked to a vessel that is up to 30% longer in overall length than the overall length of the vessel from which the eligibility is being removed.

A salmon licence may not be separated from other licence eligibilities for the purpose of stacking.

Where salmon licence eligibilities tied to other licence eligibilities are stacked, the 30% is not applicable and stacking may not result in the stacking of licences other than salmon.

Licences eligible for a temporary placement (e.g. total loss of vessel) will not be permitted to be stacked.

An area change request may be made at the time of submission of application for licence stacking. The area change may only be requested for the licence eligibility that is being stacked. The owner of the receiving vessel must make the request by completion of the applicable section on Application for Salmon Licence Eligibility Stacking. Stacking applications are accepted between December 01 and May 31 annually.

Category "N" and "F" licence eligibilities may be stacked upon annual designation in compliance with all stacking rules except that they will not be tied to other salmon licence eligibilities and no area changes are permitted.

Voluntary retirement

In 1995, the Fraser River Sockeye Public Review Board recommended formation of a consultative forum to plan the future of the salmon fishery. The Pacific Roundtable was formed with representation from the commercial, Aboriginal and recreational fishing sectors. The Roundtable called for a fleet reduction of between 25 and 50%. In March, 1996 then Minister of Fisheries & Oceans accepted the recommendation and announced a comprehensive plan to revitalize the West Coast commercial salmon fishery. An $80 million voluntary salmon licence retirement program was carried out that spring with two application rounds held. 797 salmon licence eligibilities were retired representing a 19% fleet reduction.

In 1998, then Minister of Fisheries & Oceans announced initiatives aimed at further restructuring the Pacific salmon fishery. Included in the measures was another Voluntary Salmon Licence Retirement Program. Over three rounds of the program, 1404 salmon licence eligibilities were retired from the Pacific commercial salmon fleet. Since 1996, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reduced the size of the commercial salmon fleet by nearly 50% through the 1996 Pacific Salmon Revitalization Plan and the 1998-99 Canadian Fisheries Adjustment and Restructuring Program.

Specific troll area boundary changes included moving statistical Areas 11 and 111 to licence Area G. Area G licensed vessels will continue to be permitted access to Fraser River sockeye and pink salmon along the west coast of Vancouver island. Area G licensed vessels will also be permitted access to Fraser River sockeye, and pink in the northern portion of Area 12 (north of the boundary of Subarea 12-5) in those years where there is a high diversion rate of these salmon through Johnstone Strait or in years when fishing opportunities are not available on the west coast Vancouver Island due to impacts on stocks of concern.

Reports from the Pacific Salmon Commission staff, and from ambassador John Fraser, recommended that directed Fraser River sockeye and pink salmon harvest not be permitted by northern area licence holders. In the future, northern licence areas (i.e. areas A, C and F) will not be provided opportunities for directed Fraser River sockeye and pink salmon harvests.

Vessel replacement

  • Replacement vessels for category A salmon licence eligibilities where no stacking is involved must be the exact overall length or smaller than the vessel being replaced.
  • Licence eligibility area changes are not permitted at time of vessel replacement.
  • Where a vessel is eligible for a reduced fee salmon licence, an Aboriginal must own the replacing vessel.
  • If a vessel is eligible for more than one licence category, all licence eligibilities must be reallocated to the replacement vessel except where the IFMPfor a species allows.
  • The replacement vessel must meet all registration requirements. Information regarding vessel registration is available at a Pacific Fishery Licence Unit.

The following items must be submitted along with the completed Application to Replace a Commercial Fishing Vessel:

  • Validation tabs;
  • Commercial Fishing Licences(s);
  • Declaration Concerning Licence Documents (available at all Licence Units) as to why the vessel owner(s) are unable to return any or all of these documents;
  • Written advice from each lien and encumbrance holder stating that they have been notified of the application;
  • A vessel survey for overall length, breadth and depth conducted by a Marine Surveyor in accordance with Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Vessel Measurement Guidelines, must be on file or submitted.

In addition, the following requirements must be met:

  • The Application to Replace a Commercial Fishing Vessel must be completed and signed by all owners of the vessel to be replaced. All signatures must be notarised.
  • The contact owner of the replacement vessel must sign Part 2 of the application form.
  • All conditions of the licence(s) to be reallocated have been met. (ie log book, fish slips submitted, etc.)
  • If the vessel being replaced will no longer be eligible for any commercial fishing licences as a result of the application then any party based licences (Category Z, communal commercial, etc.) designated to the original vessel must be re-designated to a suitable vessel or relinquished to Fisheries and Oceans Canada.
  • When a replacement vessel is eligible for a Schedule II species, category C licence, the licence must be relinquished to Fisheries and Oceans Canada or placed on another vessel.
  • Where a replacement vessel has a current year transporting, category D licence, all licence documents decals and registration certificate must be surrendered and the vessel must be re-registered as a Commercial Fishing Vessel.

Temporary vessel replacements

An application to temporarily replace a vessel may be made if the vessel has been declared a Total Loss, or the vessel is out of service due to an accident or unforeseen damage. Written confirmation from an insurance company, shipyard or marine engineer explaining why the vessel is inoperative is required.

Situations where vessels are in disrepair at the time of purchase, or vessels with engine problems, delays in annual maintenance or rebuilds do not qualify for temporary placement.

Licences eligible for a temporary placement (e.g. total loss of vessel) are not permitted to be stacked.

Please consult a Pacific Fishery Licence Unit for advice with regard to the permanent or temporary placement or the stacking of salmon licence eligibilities.

Permis du saumon pour les pêches autochtones, les pêches récréatives et la pêche commerciale

Contactez-nous

Contactez la section des permis des pêcheries du Pacifique au 200-401 rue Burrard, Vancouver C.-B., V6C 3S4. 1-877-535-7307.

Octroi de permis de la pêche autochtone du saumon

La pêche à buts alimentaire, social et cérémoniel est autorisée en vertu d'un régime de permis communautaires délivrés par Pêches et Océans aux organisations autochtones admissibles, comme le prévoit le Règlement sur les permis de pêche communautaires des Autochtones. Ces permis énoncent les diverses conditions qui régissent l'activité de pêche (espèces, quantités, méthodes, endroits et périodes de pêche autorisées), et appartiennent à quatre catégories distinctes :

  1. Permis de pêche monospécifique : porte sur la pêche d'une seule espèce, généralement le saumon. C'est ce type de permis qui est utilisé pour toutes les pêcheries du Fraser.
  2. Permis de pêche multispécifique : comporte des annexes distinctes autorisant la pêche de plusieurs espèces distinctes (saumon, hareng, coquillages, etc.). Utilisé habituellement pour la pêche côtière.
  3. Permis de pêche pour le séchage du poisson : délivré aux individus des communautés autochtones qui se sont toujours adonnés au séchage du poisson, qui disposent de sites de pêche et de séchage appropriés, et qui érigent leurs séchoirs en bordure du Fraser. Le poisson peut être soit séché, soit mis en conserve.
  4. Permis de pêche à but cérémoniel : peut être délivré lorsque les stocks locaux ne sont pas suffisants pour supporter une ouverture de pêche mais peuvent supporter un effort restreint. Destiné aux seules fins des besoins cérémoniels des Autochtones. Concerne presque exclusivement les pêcheries du bas Fraser.

Des permis de pêche commerciale communautaires sont délivrés aux organisations autochtones qui souhaitent participer à l'activité de pêche commerciale générale conformément au Règlement sur les permis de pêche communautaires des Autochtones. Il s'agit de permis retirés de la circulation dans le cadre du Programme de retrait des permis/Transferts d'allocation de la Stratégie des pêches autochtones. Lorsqu'ils sont délivrés en tant que permis de pêche commerciale communautaire, ces permis ont la même valeur qu'auparavant. Depuis la création du programme en 1994, environ 87 permis de pêche commerciale du saumon ont été retirés de la flottille régulière de pêche commerciale pour que de nouveaux permis soient attribués aux organisations autochtones.

Des permis de pêche des saumons géniteurs excédentaires peuvent être délivrés pour la pêche des surplus de saumons géniteurs dans divers secteurs.

Octroi de permis de la pêche récréative du saumon

Avant l'aller à la pêche au saumon en eaux maréales, les amateurs de pêche (tous âges confondus) doivent obligatoirement se procurer et avoir en leur possession un permis de pêche sportive dans les eaux à marée de la Colombie-Britannique. Et ceux qui veulent conserver leurs prises doivent également se procurer un timbre de conservation du saumon qu'ils doivent obligatoirement apposer sur leur permis. Le timbre n'est pas requis si le pêcheur a l'intention de relâcher ses prises.

Le timbre de conservation a été développé par la Fondation du saumon du Pacifique et par Pêches et Océans Canada en 1998-1989. La Fondation du saumon du Pacifique est un organisme à but non lucratif voué à la reconstruction des stocks de saumon. Une partie des recettes qui proviennent de la vente des timbres de conservation sert à financer des projets de reconstruction des stocks de saumon.

Depuis 1994, on observe une diminution générale du nombre de permis de pêche récréative et de timbres de conservation du saumon vendus. Le nombre de permis de pêche dans les eaux à marée vendus à des résidents et à des non résidents du Canada a diminué de 400 000 en 1994 à 326 000 en 2004. Durant cette même période, les ventes de timbres de conservation du saumon ont chuté de 320 000 à 236 000.

Données sur les permis de pêche sportive et sur les points de vente

Les amateurs de pêche de plus de 16 ans doivent se procurer et avoir en leur possession un permis de pêche provincial valide pour être autorisés à pêcher le saumon dans les eaux non maréales de la province. Un timbre de conservation du saumon est également requis pour pouvoir garder des prises de saumon. Ce timbre n'est pas requis dans le cas où le pêcheur prévoit relâcher tous les saumons qu'il capturera en eaux non maréales.

Les amateurs de pêche de moins de 16 ans ne sont pas tenus d'avoir un permis pour pêcher dans les eaux non maréales. Pour

Renseignements sur les permis de pêche sportive dans les eaux douces de la Colombie-Britannique

Octroi de permis de la pêche commerciale du saumon

Pêche commerciale du saumon – différentes catégories de permis

La pêche commerciale du saumon est autorisée pour les détenteurs d’un permis de catégorie « A », « N » ou « F ». La majorité des permis délivrés pour la pêche commerciale du saumon font partie de la catégorie « A » et sont attribués pour un bateau de pêche particulier. Le nombre de permis de pêche commerciale du saumon est limité. Les Autochtones qui détiennent un permis de catégorie A sont admissibles à des réductions de droits de permis. Des restrictions permanentes sont imposées une fois qu'un détenteur a opté pour une réduction de droits, et le bateau utilisé doit demeurer la propriété d’un Autochtone.

Les permis de catégorie N sont détenus par la Northern Native Fishing Corporation qui les attribue aux bateaux de son choix. Il y a 254 permis de catégorie N à distribuer et la majorité sont attribués à des bateaux de pêche au filet maillant dans le secteur C.  

Les permis de pêche commerciale communautaires de catégorie F sont en partie délivrés en vertu du Règlement sur les permis de pêche communautaires des Autochtones, dans le cadre du Programme de transfert des allocations. Les titulaires de ces permis doivent préciser les navires qui seront dotés de permis F.

Les permis de pêche au saumon qui sont attribués à des navires admissibles à d'autres types de permis sont considérés comme étant conditionnés par ces derniers et sont indissociables de ceux-ci, sous réserve des dispositions susceptibles d'être prévues dans le plan intégré de gestion de l'activité de pêche, s'agissant d'une espèce donnée.

En vertu de la politique en vigueur, les pêcheurs voulant préserver leur admissibilité à un permis de pêche doivent présenter tous les ans une demande de renouvellement avant la date limite et payer les droits conformément aux modalités prévues dans l’annexe II (article 19) du Règlement de pêche du Pacifique (1993).  

Depuis 2002, le permis de pêche au saumon couvre la période allant du 1 avril au 31 mars de l’année suivante. Tous les bateaux possédant un permis de pêche commerciale du saumon peuvent également pêcher les espèces prévues à l’annexe II et couvertes par la catégorie « C » et peuvent se livrer à des activités liées au transport des prises. Les propriétaires de bateau qui désirent pêcher des espèces de la catégorie « C » de l’annexe II ou transporter des poissons avant que ne soient disponibles les permis de pêche du saumon peuvent demander un permis spécial de catégorie « CA » prévu à l’annexe II. Lorsque le pêcheur obtient son permis de pêche du saumon normal, il doit remettre au ministère ce permis CA spécial.

Le tarif des permis de pêche au saumon a été révisé le plus récemment en 1998. Le tarif des permis de pêche commerciale est établi en vertu de l'Annexe II (article 19) du Règlement de pêche du Pacifique, 1993.

Tarif des permis de pêche commerciale du saumon

Bateaux de moins de 9,14m Bateaux de 9,14m et plus Pêche à la senne
Tarif réduit $380,00 $650,00 $2670,00
Plein tarif $430,00 $710,00 $3880,00

Permis par secteur, permis pour un seul engin et cumul de permis

Depuis 1996, les pêcheurs peuvent choisir un permis spécifique pour un secteur déterminé, un permis spécifique pour un engin de pêche unique ou le cumul de différent permis. Le pêcheur qui opte pour un permis spécifique à un engin doit choisir l’engin de pêche – senne, filet maillant ou traîne – qu’il devra exclusivement utiliser dans le cadre de tous ses permis de pêche futurs.

Dans le cas des permis spécifiques à un secteur, les propriétaires de bateau et détenteurs des permis choisissent un secteur de pêche pour une période de quatre ans. La création de ce type de permis s’est accompagnée de la division du littoral en deux secteurs pour la seine, trois secteurs pour le filet maillant et trois secteurs pour la pêche à la traîne. En 2000, le ministère a réaffirmé son engagement en faveur des permis par secteur dans le cadre de la gestion à long terme de la pêche commerciale du saumon. Avant le début de la saison 2000, les pêcheurs ont pu choisir un secteur pour une période de six ans et leur choix était donc encore valide au cours de la saison 2005. Le nombre de secteurs et leurs limites n’ont pas changé sauf pour les limites des secteurs réservés à la pêche à la traîne.

Secteur A Secteurs 1 à 10 et sous-secteur 101-7 (Pêche du saumon à la senne - Côte nord)
Secteur B Secteurs 11 à 29 et 121 (Pêche du saumon à la senne - Côte sud)
Secteur C Secteurs 1 à 10 et sous-secteur 101-7 (Pêche du saumon au filet maillant - Côte nord)
Secteur D Secteurs 11 à 15 et 23 à 27 (Pêche du saumon au filet maillant - Côte sud)
Secteur E Areas 16 to 22, 28, 29 and 121 (Salmon Gill net - South Coast)
Secteur F Secteurs 1 à 10, 101 à 110, 130 et 142 (Pêche du saumon à la traîne - Côte nord)
Secteur G Secteurs 11, 20 à 27, 111, 121, 123 à 127 (Pêche du saumon à la traîne - COIV/Q.C. Sound/Détroit R.-C.)
Secteur H Secteurs 12 à 19, 28 et 29 (Pêche du saumon à la traîne - Détroits de Johnstone et de Georgia)

Le cumul des permis permet aux propriétaires de bateau de combiner plusieurs permis spécifiques pour un secteur ou un engin affectés à différents bateaux et de les transférer à un bateau particulier. Ce cumul est possible mais un bateau ne peut cependant pas détenir plus d’un permis spécifique pour le même secteur.

Le transfert des permis ne peut se faire que vers un bateau dont la longueur totale ne dépasse pas 1,3 fois la longueur du bateau détenant initialement le permis.

Les pêcheurs ne peuvent pas séparer leurs permis de pêche du saumon dans le but de les cumuler.

Lorsque des permis cumulés sont liés, la limite sur la longueur du bateau ne s’applique pas mais il est interdit de cumuler des permis portant sur des espèces autres que des saumons.

Les permis admissibles pour une suspension temporaire (par exemple, à la suite de la perte totale d’un bateau) ne peuvent être cumulés.

Les pêcheurs peuvent demander à changer de secteur lorsqu’ils présentent leur demande de cumul de permis. Le changement de secteur ne peut porter que sur le permis faisant l’objet du cumul. Le propriétaire du bateau bénéficiant du cumul doit présenter sa demande entre le 1er décembre let 31 mai de chaque année, en y joignant le formulaire officiel de demande de cumul de permis dûment rempli.

Les permis de catégorie « N » et « F » peuvent être cumulés lors de l’attribution annuelle, conformément à toutes les règles en vigueur concernant le cumul mais ils ne doivent être liés à aucun autre permis et aucun changement ne peut être apporté aux secteurs concernés.

Programme de retrait volontaire

En 1995, le Comité d’examen public du saumon rouge du Fraser a recommandé la mise sur pied d’un forum consultatif pour planifier l’avenir de la pêche du saumon. Ainsi naquit la table ronde du Pacifique à laquelle siège de représentant des secteurs de la pêche commercial, de la pêche récréative et de la pêche des Autochtones. La table ronde a recommandé une réduction des flottilles de pêche de 25 à 50 %. En mars 1996, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans de l’époque a accepté ces recommandations et annoncé un plan détaillé visant à revitaliser la pêche commerciale du saumon sur la côte Ouest. Un programme de retrait volontaire des pêcheurs commerciaux, doté d’un budget de 80 millions $, fut mis en route au printemps de cette même année et les demandes furent acceptées en deux séries successives. Au total, 797 permis de pêche du saumon ont ainsi été retirés, ce qui correspond à une réduction de 19 % de la flottille.

En 1998, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans de l’époque a annoncé des initiatives visant à poursuivre la restructuration de la pêche du saumon dans la région du Pacifique. Les mesures prévoyaient entre autres un nouveau programme de retrait volontaire des permis de pêche commerciale du saumon du Pacifique qui permit de retirer, en trois phases, un total de 1404 permis. Depuis 1996, Pêches et Océans Canada est parvenu à réduire la taille de la flottille de pêche commerciale du saumon de près de 50 % grâce à la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de revitalisation du saumon du Pacifique de 1996 et du Programme d’ajustement et de restructuration des pêches du saumon du Pacifique de 1998 et 1999.

Une révision apportée à la délimitation du secteur de pêche à la traîne consistait notamment à déplacer les secteurs statistiques 11 et 111 au secteur de permis G. Les bateaux dotés d'un permis concernant le secteur G continueront de pouvoir pêcher le saumon rouge et le saumon rose du Fraser le long de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Ils pourront aussi pêcher le saumon rouge et le saumon rose du Fraser dans la partie nord du secteur 12 (au nord de la limite du sous-secteur 12-5) lors des années où il y a un taux de déviation élevé de ces stocks dans le détroit de Johnstone, ou lors des années où il n'y a pas d'opportunité de pêche sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver en raison des risques que l'activité de pêche poserait sur les stocks en difficulté.

Les rapports remis par la Commission sur le saumon du Pacifique et par l'ambassadeur John Fraser contenaient des recommandations visant l'interdiction de la pêche dirigée du saumon rouge et du saumon rose du Fraser par les détenteurs de permis concernant le secteur nord. À l'avenir, les secteurs visés par les permis du secteur nord (p. ex. secteurs A, C et F) seront interdits à la pêche dirigée du saumon rouge et du saumon rose du Fraser.

Remplacement des bateaux

Les articles suivants doivent être joints au dossier de demande de remplacement d’un bateau de pêche commerciale :

Les exigences suivantes doivent également être respectées :

Remplacement temporaire d’un bateau

Il est possible de demander l’autorisation de remplacer temporairement un bateau si ce dernier a été déclaré perte totale ou s’il est hors service à la suite d’un accident ou de dommages quelconques. Le demandeur doit joindre une attestation signée par un ingénieur maritime ou le représentant autorisé d’une compagnie d’assurance ou d’un chantier naval et expliquant pourquoi le bateau n’est pas opérationnel.

Les bateaux en état de délabrement lors de leur achat, dont le moteur est en panne ou dont l’entretien ou la remise en état annuel est en retard ne peuvent faire l’objet d’une demande de remplacement temporaire.

Les permis associés à un bateau faisant l’objet d’un remplacement temporaire (pour cause, par exemple, de perte totale) ne peuvent pas être cumulés.

Veuillez consulter le bureau de délivrance des permis de pêche dans la région du Pacifique pour de plus amples renseignements concernant le remplacement permanent ou temporaire d’un bateau de pêche ou le cumul de permis de pêche du saumon.