Licensing information for the Yukon Transboundary area

On this page

Recreational licences

Sport fishers intending to catch and retain salmon must have both a Yukon fishing licence and a Salmon conservation catch card. Our Whitehorse office is one of the vendors that issues Yukon angling licences on behalf of Environment Yukon. These licences can be purchased at our front counter Monday to Friday from 8am to 12 noon and 1pm to 4:30pm. Please contact us for current pricing.

Commercial licences

Commercial salmon fishing in Northern British Columbia and the Yukon is administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada in Whitehorse. Commercial Salmon Licences for the Stikine and Taku rivers in British Columbia and the Yukon River in the Yukon Territory are issued annually to licence holders.

Fisher Registration Cards (FRC) can be purchased from the Whitehorse office for commercial fishing in British Columbia. A Fisher Registration Card is required for all persons 16 years of age and over that are on board a commercial fishing vessel in BC. FRC applicants must be either a Canadian Citizen, Landed Immigrant or have either a Work Permit or Refugee Status. First time FRC applicants must provide two pieces of identification one of which must be a primary identification document.

Introductions and Transfer licences

Any transfer of live fish and/or eggs and milt into fish habitat or into fish rearing facility requires a permit from the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Introductions and Transfers Committee.

Scientific, educational or public display licences

Collection Licences are issued pursuant to Part VII of the General Fisheries Regulations, Section 51: "No person shall fish for experimental, scientific, educational or public display purposes unless authorized to do so under a licence".

Applications for a licence may be submitted by regular mail, email or fax as described on the application. We require a minimum of 10 business days to process your application, and more complex applications may take longer. Please note it is within the Minister's discretion to approve your application, and this process does not guarantee the Minister's approval.

Licence applications must clearly identify the objective(s) of the fish collection, time period, location, target species, effort and collection methods. If sampling fish during sensitive timing periods in aquatic environments in Yukon and transboundary waters, we suggest you describe means by which you will mitigation any negative effects.

Please note that applications for licences to collect non-salmon species (as well as Steelhead) in British Columbia must be made to the provincial Ministry of Environment.

Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of any issued license could result in withdrawal of the licence or affect the applicants' ability to obtain future licences.

Permits under the Species At Risk Act (SARA)

Research into any species listed in the Species At Risk Act (SARA) requires a permit issued under SARA.

Délivrance de permis - Yukon et rivières transfrontalières

Sur cette page

Permis de pêche récréative

Si vous voulez pêcher le saumon, vous devez également vous procurer une Carte d'enregistrement des prises pour la conservation du saumon et un permis de pêche du Yukon. Notre bureau à Whitehorse vend des permis de pêche sportive du Yukon au nom d'Environnement Yukon. Vous pouvez vous procurer un permis en vous présentant à notre comptoir du lundi au vendredi, entre 8 h et 12 h et 13 h et 16 h 30 (veuillez nous appeler pour connaître les droits en vigueur).

Permis de pêche commerciale

La pêche commerciale du saumon est gérée dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et au Yukon par Pêches et Océans Canada à Whitehorse. Des permis annuels de la pêche commerciale du saumon sont délivrés aux détenteurs de permis pour les rivières Stikine et Taku (en Colombie-Britannique) et pour la rivière Yukon (au Yukon).

Vous pouvez vous procurer des cartes d'inscription de pêcheur (FRC) pour la pêche en Colombie-Britannique au comptoir du bureau de Whitehorse. Toute personne de 16 et plus se trouvant à bord d'un vaisseau de pêche en C.-B. doit être munie d'une carte d'inscription de pêcheur FRC. Les demandes d'inscription à la carte FRC sont réservées aux personnes ayant la citoyenneté canadienne, le statut de résident permanent, un permis de travail ou le statut de réfugié. Pour présenter une demande initiale de la carte FRC, vous devez fournir deux pièces d'identité, dont un document principal.

Transport et transplantation de poissons vivants, d'œufs ou de laitance

Tout transfert de poissons vivants dans un habitat ou dans des installations d'élevage nécessite un permis délivré par le Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur l'implantation et le transfert d'espèces.

Autorisation de cueillette du poisson à des fins scientifiques ou éducatives ou pour exposition au public

Les permis de cueillette sont délivrés en vertu de l'article 51, partie VII du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) : « Il est interdit de pêcher à des fins expérimentales, scientifiques, éducatives ou pour exposition au public à moins d'y être autorisé par un permis ».

Il est possible d'envoyer les demandes de permis par courrier postal, par courrier électronique ou par télécopieur. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) peut prendre au moins 10 jours pour traiter votre demande, parfois plus dans le cas des demandes complexes. N'oubliez pas que l'approbation de votre demande se fait à la discrétion du ministre et que le résultat de votre démarche peut être le rejet de votre demande.

Les demandes de permis doivent clairement indiquer l'objectif (ou les objectifs) de la cueillette du poisson, la période, l'emplacement, l'espèce visée, l'effort et les méthodes de cueillette. Pour votre demande, nous vous recommandons d'utiliser le formulaire Demande de permis de pêche à des fins scientifiques, expérimentales, éducatives ou pour exposition au public.

Veuillez noter que les demandes de cueillette des espèces autres que le saumon (et le saumon arc-en-ciel) en Colombie-Britannique doivent être envoyées à l'autorité provinciale (Ministry of Environment).

Le non-respect des modalités et des conditions de tout permis délivré peut entraîner la suspension du permis ou compromettre la capacité des demandeurs à obtenir des permis à l'avenir.

Permis délivrés en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)

Les recherches sur toute espèce inscrite sur la liste en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) nécessitent un permis délivré conformément à la LEP.

Liens connexes