Euphausiid (krill) Fishery - Pacific Region

Photo: krill in a jar

Krill in a jar

Species Information

Integrated Fisheries Management Plans 

Overview of the Fishery

About twenty species of euphausiids occur in B.C. waters. Biomass is dominated by five species: Euphausia pacifica, Thysanoessa spinifera, Thysanoessa inspinata, Thysanoessa longipes and Thysanoessa rashii. Euphausia pacifica accounts for 70 to 100 % of the euphausiid biomass in the Strait of Georgia where the commercial fishery occurs. A trawl fishery began in the Strait of Georgia in 1970 as an experimental fishery, and was licensed under category "Z-F" in 1983. The number of licences was limited in 1993, a total of eighteen fishers qualified. In recent years activity in the fishery has been less than 10 vessels.

The harvest of euphausiids in British Columbia is limited to 500 tonnes annually. The fishery occurs in the Strait of Georgia and several Mainland inlet areas with most landings occurring in the late Fall and early in the New Year. All catches are weighed and validated as they are landed to provide for area based quota management.

Fishers deploy fine mesh plankton trawl nets that are towed several metres below the surface after dusk. The catch is either frozen at sea on board the catcher vessel, or placed in totes and iced for transport to a land based facility for further processing and freezing. Most product is used as a feed supplement in fish food for the fin fish aquaculture industry and for aquarium needs. There are also limited and developing markets for uses of euphausiids as a human food product in Canada and abroad.

Euphasiids constitute an integral part of the food chain and are an important food source for a variety of marine animals, including hake, herring, rockfish, salmon, seabirds, and whales.

Contacts

250-756-7233

Lead Resource Manager, Euphausiids

For other euphausiid fishery departmental contacts, please consult the Shellfish Contacts page.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Pêche des euphausiacés (krill)

Photo : Du krill dans un bocal
Euphausiacés

Renseignements sur l'espèce

Plans de gestion intégrée des pêches

Aperçu des pêches

On trouve une vingtaine d'espèces d'euphausiacés dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette biomasse, qui constitue le krill, est dominée par cinq espèces : Euphausia pacifica, Thysanoessa spinifera, Thysanoessa inspinata, Thysanoessa longipes et Thysanoessa rashii. La première représente entre 70 % et 100 % de la biomasse totale des euphausiacés dans le détroit de Georgia, où se concentre l'activité de pêche commerciale concernant cette espèce. C'est en 1970 qu'on fit les premiers essais de chalutage du krill dans le détroit de Georgia. En 1983, on autorisa cette pêche sous un permis de catégorie « Z-F ». Le nombre de permis pouvant être délivré fut restreint en 1993, et un total de dix-huit pêcheurs se qualifièrent. Au cours des récentes années, la pêche aux euphausiacés s'est résumée à moins de dix navires.

En Colombie-Britannique, la récolte des euphausiacés est limitée à 500 tonnes par an. L'activité se concentre dans le détroit de Georgia et dans plusieurs inlets de la zone continentale, et a lieu pour la plus grande partie à la fin de l'automne et au début de l'année. Toutes les captures sont pesées et contrôlées au débarquement, afin de faciliter la gestion des quotas attribués pour chaque zone.

Les pêcheurs d'euphausiacés utilisent des chaluts à maillage fin qu'ils remorquent à plusieurs mètres de profondeur, après la tombée du jour. Les captures sont soit mises à congeler à bord du bateau de pêche, soit mises dans des sacs avec de la glace pour leur transport jusqu'à l'endroit où elles seront transformées ou congelées. La plus grande partie de la pêche est destinée à l'alimentation complémentaire des poissons d'élevage ou d'aquarium. Il commence également à se développer quelques créneaux de marché pour l'alimentation humaine, au Canada et à l'étranger.

Les euphausiacés sont un élément critique de la chaîne alimentaire et une importante source d'aliment pour de nombreux animaux marins, notamment le merlu, le sébaste, le saumon, les oiseaux marins et les baleines.

Date de modification: