Fraser River Fisheries Information

Upper and Mid-Fraser River

For this week's open & closed times, please call:

  • 1-877-256-4854 (toll free) for pre-recorded message
  • (250) 256-2650 to speak to staff

Middle and Upper Fraser River First Nations Salmon Opening Times:
Current: [HTML] [PDF]
Previous: [HTML] [PDF]

Middle and Upper Fraser River First Nations Salmon Harvest Reports - [HTML] [PDF]

Lower Fraser River

Information on First Nations salmon fisheries in the Fraser River watershed between its mouth and Sawmill Creek:

Current Licence Opening Times:

Communal Licences:
Current Week: [HTML] [PDF]
Previous Weeks: [HTML] [PDF]

Communal Licences with Limited Participation:
Current Week: [HTML] [PDF]
Previous Weeks: [HTML] [ PDF]

Communal Licences with Allowance for Sales:
Current Week: [HTML] [PDF]
Previous Weeks: [HTML] [ PDF]

Catch Reports:

Chinook: [HTML] [PDF]
Sockeye: [HTML] [PDF]
Chum: [HTML] [PDF]
Coho: [HTML] [PDF]
Pink: [HTML] [PDF]
Steelhead: [HTML] [PDF]

Archived Information

Catch, openings and other information from previous years

Fishery Summary

There are numerous First Nations which are involved in the Lower Fraser salmon fishery. These fisheries can be grouped into the three following areas:

For additional questions/requests please contact: Matthew Parslow 604-666-6608

Below Port Mann Bridge

Musqueam, Tsawwassen, Tsleil-Waututh and New Westminster First Nations fish with drift nets downstream of the Port Mann Bridge and into the Strait of Georgia.

Salmon fishery catch monitoring in this area is conducted by Aboriginal Fishery Officers and fishery observers. The Aboriginal Fishery Officers and observers conduct boat and vehicle patrols during the fishery openings to obtain catch and effort data. Participating fishers are interviewed multiple times throughout each fishery. The number of participants is recorded for each day of the fishery and catch is recorded by species and reported to Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The Kwikwetlem First Nation fishes from Douglas Island to the Patullo Bridge. Fishing effort and species caught are reported to Fisheries and Oceans Canada by the band.

Port Mann Bridge to Mission

Members of the Sto:lo Nation, including Katzie, Kwantlen, and Matsqui First Nations fish this area using both drift and set nets.

During salmon drift and set net fisheries, observers are stationed at the area's 3 main access points at a minimum; Katzie Reserve, Barnston Island, and Kwantlen Reserve. The observers conduct interviews with fishers to obtain effort and catch data. A charter patrolman also conducts boat patrols during fishery openings to obtain catch and effort data on the water. The number of participants is recorded for each day of the fishery and catch is recorded by species.

In addition to regular monitoring duties, the observers also sample any Chinook or coho observed with missing adipose fins (CWT sampling). Sockeye scale samples are collected at the Katzie and Kwantlen landing sites for the Pacific Salmon Commission.

Mission to Sawmill Creek

Members of the Sto:lo Nation and Sto:lo Tribal Council; including Aitchelitz, Chawathil, Cheam, Kwawkwawapilt, Leq'a:mel, Peter's, Popkum, Seabird Island, Skawahlook, Shxw'ow'hamel, Skowkale, Skowlitz, Skwah, Skway, Soowahlie, Squiala, Sumas, Tzeachten, Union Bar, Yakweakwioose and Chehalis First Nations, fish this area using set nets, drift nets and beach seines.

During gillnet salmon fisheries, observers collect catch and effort data by conducting interviews with fishers. Observers are stationed at a minimum of 13 major access points along the river; Sumas (Bowman's Mill), Leg'a:mel, Skway, Island 22, Scowlitz (Harrison/Fraser confluence), Chehalis, Seabird Island, Agassiz Bridge (Cheam), Peters, Hunter Creek, Chawathil, Coquihalla, and Yale Beach. There are also roving surveys conducted from Yale Beach to Sawmill Creek and in the Hope area to increase coverage. Overflights are conducted to capture instantaneous total set net fishing effort a minimum of once per opening. This information, along with the interview data, is used to estimate the overall set net catch and effort in each fishery. The number of drift net fishers is recorded for each day of the fishery and catch is recorded by species. a charter patrol vessel also conducts boat patrols during fishery openings to obtain catch and effort data on the water.

During beach seine salmon fisheries, an observer is present with each crew and records catch and release on a set-by-set basis. Total number of active crews is recorded for each day of the fishery and catch is recorded by species.

Yale First Nation members also fish the portion of the river between Hope and Sawmill Creek with set nets and drift nets.

Yale First Nation has observers stationed at Strawberry Island to collect catch and effort data. After the completion of the fishery, all Yale First Nation fishers in other areas are contacted by Yale First Nation Fisheries staff to obtain catch information.

In addition to regular catch monitoring duties, observers sample any Chinook or coho observed with missing adipose fins (CWT sampling). Sockeye scale samples are collected for the Pacific Salmon Commission.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Renseignements sur les pêches dans le Fraser

Sur cette page

Haut Fraser et mi-Fraser

Ouverture

Pour les heures d’ouverture et de fermeture de cette semaine, veuillez composer :

Rapports sur la pêche

Bas Fraser

Renseignements sur les pêches au saumon des autochtones dans le bassin hydrographique du Fraser entre l’embouchure et le ruisseau Sawmill :

Ouverture

Permis communaux

Les Permis communaux sont délivrées aux communautés pour la pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles.

Permis communaux: Participation limitée

Les Permis communaux avec une participation limitée sont délivrés à une ou deux communautés à la fois pour un petit nombre de pêcheurs et/ou pour collecter un nombre limité de poissons. Ces ouvertures sont souvent liées aux poissons utilisés pour les rituels.

Permis communaux: Allocations pour les ventes

Les Permis communaux avec une allocation pour les ventes sont délivrés aux communautés quand le poisson est planifié d’être vendu; cela inclus les Opportunités économiques, les Démonstrations et les Accords de récolte des pêches.

Rapports sur la pêche

Résumé de la pêche

Un grand nombre de Premières nations pêchent le saumon dans le cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser. On peut regrouper ces pêches dans les trois zones suivantes :

En aval de Port Mann Bridge

Les Premières nations Musqueam, Tsawwassen, Tsleil-Waututh et New Westminster pêchent avec des filets dérivants en aval de Port Mann Bridge et dans le détroit de Georgie.

Dans cette zone, la surveillance des prises de la pêche au saumon est effectuée par des agents des pêches autochtones et des observateurs de la pêche. Les agents des pêches autochtones et les observateurs procèdent à des patrouilles en bateau et en véhicule durant les activités de pêche pour obtenir des données sur les prises et l'effort. Les pêcheurs participants sont interviewés à de nombreuses occasions pendant chaque pêche. Le nombre de participants est enregistré pour chaque journée de pêche et les prises sont enregistrées selon l'espèce, puis ces données sont transmises à Pêches et Océans Canada.

La Première nation Kwikwetlem pêche de Douglas Island à Patullo Bridge. Elle transmet les données relatives aux efforts de pêches et aux espèces capturées à Pêches et Océans Canada.

De Port Mann Bridge à Mission

Les membres de la Première nation Sto:lo, y compris les Premières nations Katzie, Kwantlen et Matsqui, pêchent dans cette zone à l'aide de filets dérivants et de filets fixes.

Pendant les pêches au saumon à l'aide de filets dérivants et fixes, les observateurs sont postés aux trois points d'accès principaux de la zone, à tout le moins; la réserve Katzie, l'île Barnston et la réserve Kwantlen. Les observateurs rencontrent les pêcheurs afin d'obtenir des données sur les prises et l'effort. Un patrouilleur affrété procède aussi à des patrouilles en bateau pendant les activités de pêche pour obtenir des données sur les prises et l'effort. Le nombre de participants est enregistré pour chaque journée de pêche et les prises sont enregistrées selon l'espèce.

En plus de leurs tâches normales de surveillance, les observateurs prélèvent aussi un échantillon de tous les saumons quinnat ou coho dont les nageoires adipeuses sont manquantes. On recueille aussi des échantillons d'écailles de saumons rouges dans les sites de débarquement de Katzie et Kwantlen pour la Commission du saumon du Pacifique.

Mission à Sawmill Creek

Les membres de la Première nation Sto:lo et du Conseil tribal Sto:lo, comprenant les Premières nations Aitchelitz, Chawathil, Cheam, Kwawkwawapilt, Leq'a:mel, Peter's, Popkum, Seabird Island, Skawahlook, Shxw'ow'hamel, Skowkale, Skowlitz, Skwah, Skway, Soowahlie, Squiala, Sumas, Tzeachten, Union Bar, Yakweakwioose et Chehalis, pêchent dans cette zone à l'aide de filets fixes, de filets dérivants et de seines de plage.

Pendant les pêches au saumon au filet maillant, les observateurs rencontrent les pêcheurs afin de recueillir des données sur les prises et l'effort. Les observateurs sont postés à au moins 13 points d'accès majeurs le long de la rivière; Sumas (Bowman's Mill), Leg'a:mel, Skway, Island 22, Scowlitz (au confluent de la rivière Harrison et du fleuve Fraser), Chehalis, Seabird Island, Agassiz Bridge (Cheam), Peters, Hunter Creek, Chawathil, Coquihalla et Yale Beach. On procède aussi à des enquêtes de surveillance de Yale Beach à Sawmill Creek et dans la zone de Hope pour couvrir une plus grande partie du territoire. On effectue des survols pour saisir instantanément l'effort total de pêche au filet fixe au moins une fois par ouverture. Ces renseignements, en plus de ceux obtenus lors des entrevues, sont utilisés pour estimer l'ensemble des prises au filet fixe et de l'effort pour chaque pêche. Le nombre de pêcheurs au filet dérivant est enregistré pour chaque journée de pêche et les prises sont enregistrées selon l'espèce; un navire de patrouille affrété procède aussi à des patrouilles pendant les activités de pêche afin d'obtenir des données sur les prises et l'effort.

Pendant les pêches au saumon à la senne de plage, un observateur accompagne chaque équipage et enregistre les prises et les remises à l'eau pour chaque cas. Le nombre total d'équipages actifs est enregistré pour chaque journée de pêche et les prises sont enregistrées selon l'espèce.

Les membres de la Première nation Yale pratiquent aussi la pêche dans la rivière, entre Hope et Sawmill Creek, avec des filets fixes et des filets dérivants.

Des observateurs de la Première nation Yale sont postés à l'île Strawberry pour recueillir des données sur les prises et l'effort. Lorsque la pêche est terminée, les employés des pêches de la Première nation Yale communiquent avec tous les pêcheurs de la Première nation Yale dans les autres zones pour obtenir les renseignements relatifs aux prises.

En plus de leurs tâches normales de surveillance des prises, les observateurs prélèvent un échantillon de tous les saumons quinnat ou coho dont les nageoires adipeuses sont manquantes. Des échantillons d'écailles de saumons rouges sont recueillis pour la Commission du saumon du Pacifique.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec : Karen Burnett 604-230-7615.

Information archivés

Date de modification: