Integrated Fisheries Management Plan summary: Pacific Sardine (Sardinops Sagax), Pacific Region - Aug. 1, 2021 to May 31, 2024

On this page

Forward

The purpose of this Integrated Fisheries Management Plan (IFMP) summary is to provide a brief overview of the information found in the full IFMP. This document also serves to communicate the basic information on the fishery and its management to DFO staff, legislated co-management boards and other stakeholders.  This IFMP provides a common understanding of the basic “rules” for the sustainable management of the fisheries resource. The full IFMP is available on request.

This IFMP summary is not a legally binding instrument which can form the basis of a legal challenge. The IFMP can be modified at any time and does not fetter the Minister's discretionary powers set out in the Fisheries Act. The Minister can, for reasons of conservation or for any other valid reasons, modify any provision of the IFMP in accordance with the powers granted pursuant to the Fisheries Act

Where DFO is responsible for implementing obligations under land claims agreements, the IFMP will be implemented in a manner consistent with these obligations.  In the event that an IFMP is inconsistent with obligations under land claims agreements, the provisions of the land claims agreements will prevail to the extent of the inconsistency.

General introduction/overview - IFMP Section 1

The Pacific sardine fishery is an opportunistic fishery dependent on the migration of sardines into Canadian waters. Sardine migration and population levels are heavily influenced by oceanic conditions that determine the survival and recruitment of juveniles into the adult stock. A sardine fishery in B.C. is dependent on favourable ocean conditions which support the growth and production of the Pacific Sardine stock.

From 1996 to 2001, there was a limited experimental harvest of Pacific Sardine by a small number of harvesters. Given the results of the experimental fishing, and the de-listing of Pacific Sardine by the Federal-Provincial Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) as a species of “special concern” in May 2002, the seine component of the fishery moved to a commercial phase consistent with the Department’s New Emerging Fisheries policy (NEFP). A one-year interim plan was developed in 2002 using a precautionary approach while providing opportunity for continued assessment of the viability of the fishery and the potential for future expansion. An experimental/exploratory phase was initiated to investigate the feasibility of alternative gear types and areas.

From 2003 to 2006, the Department developed a three year fishing plan that allowed for an incremental approach towards development of the fishery while continuing to follow the principles of the NEFP. From 2007 to 2011, the Department developed an annual Integrated Fisheries Management Plan to support growth of the fishery. Following the decline of the fishery, management plans have been multi-year, reflecting the unnecessity of active management.

There are a total of 50 licences for the Pacific sardine fishery (25 commercial and 25 communal commercial licences). All commercial harvest of Pacific sardine occurs using purse seine gear. With the exception of permanent and seasonal closures, the commercial Pacific Sardine fishery, when Total Allowable Catch is allocated, may open from June 1 to February 9 each year in Pacific Fishery Management Areas (PFMAs) 3 – 13, 20, 23 to 27, 101 to 110, 121, 123 to 127, 130 and 142. When the commercial fishery was open the majority of harvest occurred from August to October.

Stock assessments, science and Indigenous knowledge - IFMP Section 2

Stock Assessment

Stock assessments for Pacific Sardine are conducted by the United States (U.S.) National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The U.S. NMFS has been annually assessing the status and population trends of the Pacific Sardine Northern Subpopulation of the eastern Pacific Ocean using versions of an age-structured model. Because of its geographic distribution that can range southward from the west coast of Baja California northward to southeast Alaska, it is also known as the California Current Ecosystem sardine stock. Information from fishery independent surveys, monitoring fishery catch and landings, and biological sampling has been used to inform stock assessment models. Stock assessment methods have changed over the years and are expected to further evolve over time as part of multi-year review processes facilitated by the US Pacific Fishery Management Council.

From 1997 to 2014, data from summer DFO pelagic trawl surveys off the west coast of Vancouver Island were used to characterize the regional distribution, relative abundance, and biological information of sardine in BC waters. In 2006, 2008-2014 night trawling was conducted to reduce the variability in catch data of sardine and improve characterization of fish diet observations.  Using data from trawl surveys, methods to estimate seasonal biomass and migration of sardine have been developed (Schweigert and McFarland 2001; Schweigert et al 2010; Flostrand et al 2011). Since 2014, no consistent DFO multi-year survey plan has been employed to specifically monitor sardine occurrence and ecology in BC waters but information is also collected from other DFO multi-species pelagic surveys off the west coast of Vancouver Island (and other areas) which may catch sardine.

Ecosystem Interactions

Pacific Sardine occurrence in, and migrations to, waters of the Pacific Northwest of North America are mainly to feed on abundant plankton resources associated with summer months. The extent of the northward migration is in part related to oceanographic conditions, particularly sea surface temperature, such that stocks move further north during warmer years. Sea surface temperature has also been related to juvenile survival for recruitment to the adult spawning population with stronger recruitment occurring during warmer years.

Similar to other forage fish species in BC waters, sardine are eaten by a variety of predators, such as salmonids, sharks, sea lions, seals, Humpback whales, and seabirds. The seasonal distribution of sardine in BC waters corresponds with the foraging and migrating seasons of some of their predators, such as Coho and Chinook salmon and Humpback whales. Ongoing research is helping scientists and fisheries managers to develop a better understanding of ecosystem processes, including environmental effects on sardine recruitment, and the role that sardines play in ecosystem structure and function.

Indigenous Knowledge

Indigenous Knowledge has not been generally available on sardine. However, when available, it will be considered in science decisions and the management of the fishery.

Social, cultural, and economic importance - IFMP Section 3

Indigenous

Sardine fishing for Food, Social, and Ceremonial (FSC) purposes may be authorized upon request. Sardine fishing may also be permitted through the Maa-nulth Harvest Document, or through other treaty-related mechanisms.

Recreational

Recreational fishing may occur to provide food for personal use, as a leisure activity, or as a combination of the two. The recreational community includes local residents, multi-species charter operators and lodges, and visiting anglers and boaters. These activities provide a range of benefits to the participants as well as contribute directly and indirectly to economic activity.

Commercial

The majority of the most recently active sardine vessels stacked licences and their associated quota. Based on the most recent (2009) financial profile of the fishery, the average vessel had an estimated boat return of approximately $30,000. Five vessels accounted for just over half of all sardine licences (communal commercial and commercial). While vessels that have been active in the sardine seine fishery were also often active in the salmon and herring fisheries, the majority of their gross revenue (more than 50%) was from the harvest of sardines in 2009.

A notable future challenge in the sardine fishery, should commercial harvest resume, will be finding appropriate buyers for this product. The BC sardine harvest, like the much larger U.S. sardine harvest, is mostly destined as low value bait in the tuna high seas longline fishery. Past efforts to gain access to the higher value food product market have had mixed results.

Access and allocation - IFMP Section 5

The Minister can, for reasons of conservation or for any other valid reason, modify access, allocations, and sharing arrangements as outlined in this IFMP in accordance with the powers granted pursuant to the Fisheries Act.

Indigenous

Indigenous harvest of Pacific Sardine for FSC or domestic purposes may occur coast wide where authorized by a communal licence or Harvest Document.

Recreational

Recreational harvest of Pacific sardine is permitted through a British Columbia Tidal Waters Sport Fishing Licence. The daily limit for Pacific sardine is 100 pieces and the possession limit is 200 pieces (Variation Order 2016-74).

Commercial

Commercial harvest of Pacific Sardine is not currently permitted.

Contact us

For additional information on this IFMP Summary, please contact Brad Langman at Brad.Langman@dfo-mpo.gc.ca or to view an electronic version of the full IFMP please visit our library.

Date modified:

Résumé du plan de gestion intégrée de pêche Sardine du Pacifique (Sardinops Sagax), Région du Pacifique - 1 août 2021 au 31 mai 2024

Sur cette page

Préface

Le but du résumé de ce plan de gestion intégrée des pêches (PGIP) est de donner un aperçu de la version intégrale du PGIP. Ce document sert également à communiquer au personnel de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), aux Premières nations, aux conseils de cogestion et à d'autres intervenants, les informations essentielles relatives à la pêche et sa gestion. Le présent PGIP établit les principes communs d’une gestion durable de la ressource halieutique. La version complète du PGIP est disponible sur demande.

Le présent résumé du PGIP n’est pas un document exécutoire; il ne peut constituer la base d’une contestation judiciaire. Le PGIP peut être modifié en tout temps, il ne peut entraver l’exercice des pouvoirs discrétionnaires du ministre conférés par la Loi sur les pêches. Le ministre peut, pour des raisons de conservation ou pour toute autre raison valable, modifier toute disposition du PGIP conformément aux pouvoirs discrétionnaires qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur les pêches

Dans tous les cas où le MPO est responsable de l'exécution d'obligations découlant d'accords sur des revendications territoriales, la mise en œuvre du PGIP devra être compatible avec ces obligations. Si le PGIP entre en conflit avec les obligations juridiques des accords sur les revendications territoriales, les dispositions de ces derniers prévaudront dans la mesure de l’incompatibilité. 

Introduction général / aperçu - Chapitre 1 du PGIPP

La pêche à la sardine du Pacifique est une pêche opportuniste qui dépend de la migration des sardines dans les eaux canadiennes. La migration de la sardine et les niveaux de population sont fortement influencés par les conditions océaniques qui déterminent la survie et le recrutement des juvéniles dans le stock adulte. Une pêche à la sardine en Colombie-Britannique dépend des conditions océaniques favorables qui soutiennent la croissance et la production du stock de sardines du Pacifique.

Entre 1996 et 2001, quelques pêcheurs ont récolté la sardine du Pacifique dans le cadre d’une pêche expérimentale limitée. Compte tenu des résultats de cette pêche expérimentale et en mai 2002 du retrait de la sardine du Pacifique de la liste des espèces « préoccupantes » par le Comité fédéral-provincial sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), la pêche opérant à la senne est passée à une phase commerciale conformément à la politique du ministère sur les nouvelles pêches émergentes (NPE). En 2002, un plan provisoire d'un an a été élaboré en utilisant une approche prudente qui donnait aussi la possibilité de faire une évaluation de la viabilité de la pêche en continu et d’une éventuelle future expansion. Une phase expérimentale/exploratoire a été lancée pour étudier la possibilité d’utiliser d'autres types d'engins et d’autres zones.

Entre 2003 et 2006, le Ministère a élaboré un plan de pêche de trois ans permettant une approche progressive vers le développement de la pêche tout en continuant à suivre les principes du NPE. Entre 2007 et 2011, le Ministère a élaboré un plan annuel de gestion intégrée des pêches pour soutenir la croissance de la pêche. À la suite du déclin de cette pêcherie, les plans de gestion sont devenus pluriannuels, ce qui reflétait l'inutilité d'une gestion active.

Il existe un total de 50 permis de pêche à la sardine du Pacifique (25 permis de pêche commerciale et 25 permis de pêche commerciale communautaire). Tous les prélèvements de sardines du Pacifique dans la pêche commerciale se font à l'aide d'engins de senne coulissante. À l'exception des fermetures permanentes et saisonnières, la pêche commerciale à la sardine du Pacifique, lorsque le total autorisé des captures est alloué, peut ouvrir du 1er juin au 9 février de chaque année dans les secteurs de gestion des pêches du Pacifique (SGP) 3 à 13, 20, 23 à 27, 101 à 110, 121, 123 à 127, 130 et 142. Lorsque la pêche commerciale est ouverte, la plupart de la récolte a eu lieu d'août à octobre.

Évaluation des stock, connaissances scientifiques et savoirs autochtones - Chapitre 2 du PGIPP

Évaluation du stock

Les évaluations des stocks de sardine du Pacifique sont menées par le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) (États-Unis) (Service national des pêches marines des États-Unis) et de la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) (Administration national des océans et de l’atmosphère). Le NMFS américain évalue chaque année la situation et l’évolution de la sous-population de sardine du nord du Pacifique dans l'est de l’océan Pacifique à l'aide de plusieurs versions d'un modèle structuré par âge. La répartition géographique du stock peut s'étendre vers le sud de la côte ouest de la Basse-Californie et vers le nord jusqu'au sud-est de l'Alaska. Il est également connu sous le nom de stock de sardines de l'écosystème du courant californien. Les informations provenant d'enquêtes indépendantes sur la pêche, de la surveillance des captures et des débarquements de la pêche et d'échantillonnages biologiques ont été utilisées pour étayer les modèles d'évaluation des stocks. Les méthodes d'évaluation des stocks ont changé au fil des ans et devraient continuer d'évoluer avec le temps dans le cadre des processus d'examens pluriannuels facilités par le US Pacific Fishery Management Council (Conseil de gestion des pêches du Pacifique des É-U.).

De 1997 à 2014, les données provenant des relevés des pêches au chalut pélagique du MPO effectués en été au large de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver ont été utilisées pour décrire la répartition régionale, l'abondance relative et les informations biologiques de la sardine dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour réduire la variabilité des données de capture de sardine et améliorer la description des observations du régime alimentaire des poissons, les relevés au chalut ont été menés de nuit à partir de 2006. Des méthodes pour estimer la biomasse saisonnière et la migration de la sardine ont été développées (Schweigert et McFarland 2001 ; Schweigert et al 2010 ; Flostrand et al 2011) en utilisant les données de ces relevés au chalut. Depuis 2014, aucun plan cohérent de relevé pluriannuel du MPO n'a été utilisé pour surveiller spécifiquement la présence et l'écologie de la sardine dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique. Mais des informations sont également recueillies à partir d'autres relevés de pêches pélagiques multi-spécifiques du MPO au cours desquels des sardines peuvent être capturées au large de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver (et dans d’autres zones).

Interactions dans l’écosystème

La sardine du Pacifique présente dans les eaux du nord-ouest du Pacifique de l'Amérique du Nord et les migrations qui s’y dirigent se nourrissent principalement d'abondantes ressources de plancton qui s’y trouvent durant les mois d'été. L'étalement de la migration jusqu’au nord est en partie lié aux conditions océanographiques, en particulier à la température de surface de la mer, c’est pourquoi les stocks se déplacent plus au nord pendant les années plus chaudes. La température de surface de la mer a également été mise en rapport avec la survie des juvéniles pour le recrutement de la population de reproducteurs adultes, un recrutement plus fort ayant lieu pendant les années les plus chaudes.

À l'instar d'autres espèces de poissons fourrages dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique, la sardine est mangée par plusieurs prédateurs tels que les salmonidés, les requins, les lions de mer, les phoques, les baleines à bosse et les oiseaux marins. La répartition saisonnière de la sardine dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique correspond aux saisons d'alimentation et de migration de certains de leurs prédateurs, comme le saumon coho, le saumon quinnat et les baleines à bosse. Les recherches en cours aident les scientifiques et les gestionnaires des pêches à mieux comprendre les processus écosystémiques, notamment les effets environnementaux sur le recrutement des sardines et le rôle que jouent les sardines dans la structure et le fonctionnement des écosystèmes.

Savoirs autochtones

Il s’avère qu’il n’existe pas vraiment de savoirs autochtones sur la sardine. Cependant s’il en existe, ils seront pris en compte dans les décisions scientifiques et de gestion de la pêche.

Importance économique, culturelle et sociale - Chapitre 3 du PGIP

Pêche autochtone

La pêche à la sardine à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles (ASR) peut être autorisée sur demande. La pêche à la sardine peut également être autorisée grâce au document de pêche Maa-nulth ou d'autres mécanismes liés aux traités.

Pêche récréative

La pêche récréative peut être pratiquée afin de se procurer de la nourriture pour un usage personnel, comme activité de loisir ou comme une combinaison des deux. La communauté de la pêche récréative comprend des résidents locaux, des exploitants de gîtes et de bateaux affrétés, ainsi que des pêcheurs à la ligne et des plaisanciers en visite. Ces activités offrent une série d'avantages aux participants et contribuent directement et indirectement à l'activité économique.

Pêche commerciale

La majorité des navires sardiniers les plus récemment actifs avait un cumul de permis et leur quota associé. D'après le profil financier de la pêche le plus récent (2009), un bateau avait en moyenne une rentabilité estimée à environ 30 000 $. Cinq bateaux représentaient un peu plus de la moitié de tous les permis de pêche à la sardine (pêche commerciale et pêche commerciale communautaire). Les bateaux qui étaient actifs dans la pêche à la sardine à la senne étaient également le plus souvent actifs dans la pêche au saumon et au hareng, la majorité de leurs revenus bruts (plus de 50 %) ont été tirés de la récolte de sardines en 2009.

Si la récolte commerciale reprend, un des défis futurs des plus importants dans la pêche à la sardine sera de trouver les bons acheteurs pour ce produit. La récolte de sardines de la Colombie-Britannique, comme la récolte beaucoup plus importante de sardines aux États-Unis, est principalement destinée à servir d'appât de faible valeur dans la pêche au thon à la palangre en haute mer. Les efforts passés pour accéder au marché des produits alimentaires de plus grande valeur ont eu des résultats mitigés.

Accès et allocation - Chapitre 5 du PGIP

Le ministre peut, pour des raisons de conservation ou pour toute autre raison valable, modifier les modalités d'accès, d'allocation et de partage telles que décrites dans le présent PGIP conformément aux pouvoirs accordés en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Pêche autochtone

La pêche autochtone à la sardine du Pacifique à des fins ASR ou domestiques peut avoir lieu sur toute la côte lorsqu'elle est autorisée par un permis de pêche communautaire ou un document de récolte.

Pêche récréative

La pêche récréative à la sardine du Pacifique est autorisée par le biais d’un permis de pêche récréative. La pêche récréative à la sardine du Pacifique à des fins ASR ou domestiques peut avoir lieu sur toute la côte dans les eaux de marée de la Colombie-Britannique. La limite quotidienne pour la sardine du Pacifique est de 100 pièces et la limite de possession est de 200 pièces (Ordonnance de modification 2016-74).

Pêche commerciale

La pêche commerciale à la sardine du Pacifique n'est actuellement pas autorisée.

Contactez-nous

Pour plus d'informations sur ce résumé du PGIP, veuillez contacter Brad Langman à l’adresse courriel Brad.Langman@dfo-mpo.gc.ca ou pour consulter une version électronique complète du PGIP, : rendez-vous à notre bibliothèque (en anglais suulement).

Date de modification :