Treaty arrangements regarding fish in British Columbia and Yukon

Among other things, fisheries chapters in modern First Nation treaties that have been negotiated to date articulate a fishing right and describe the role for First Nations in fisheries management.

The fishing right described in the final treaty agreement is protected under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982. The authority for fisheries management continues to lie with the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

The following modern-day treaties contain fisheries provisions:

In addition to modern-day treaties, the following historic treaties in British Columbia also contain fisheries provisions:

Treaties in British Columbia

British Columbia is unique among the territories and provinces of Canada in that it has a large number of First Nations without treaties. Therefore, a specific process was developed following the recommendations of the BC Claims Task Force in 1991. The British Columbia Treaty Commission (BCTC) facilitates the six-stage treaty negotiation process. DFO participates in treaty negotiations, which are led by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.

Treaties will provide definition around the relationship between DFO and Aboriginal groups and provide greater certainty to all users of the fisheries resource.

For more information about the BC treaty process in general, check out the BC Treaty Commission website.

Treaties in Yukon

In Yukon, the Umbrella Final Agreement (UFA) between the Government of Canada, the Council for Yukon Indians and the Government of Yukon has been in effect since May 29, 1993. The UFA was established as a framework agreement for the negotiation of Final Agreements with Yukon's First Nations. Of the 14 Yukon First Nations three remain without modern day land claim agreements and three others have unsettled claims that reach into the northern part of British Columbia.

The Yukon Salmon Sub-Committee (YSSC) of the Yukon Fish and Wildlife Management Board was established under the UFA as a public advisory body. The role of the YSSC is to make recommendations, in the public interest, to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans on matters related to salmon. The YSSC is comprised of Yukon First Nations, members of the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and members of the public.

Ententes sur la pêche passées dans le cadre des traités en Colombie-Britannique

Entre autres, les sections consacrées aux pêches dans les traités modernes négociés jusqu'à maintenant avec les Premières Nations précisent en quoi consiste le droit de pêche et décrivent le rôle des Premières Nations dans la gestion des pêches.

Le droit de pêche décrit dans le traité est protégé en vertu de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. La gestion des pêches continue de relever de la compétence de la ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

Les traités modernes suivants contiennent des dispositions sur les pêches:

En plus des traités modernes, les traités historiques suivants passés en Colombie-Britannique contiennent des dispositions sur les pêches:

Traités en Colombie-Britannique

La Colombie-Britannique est unique parmi les territoires et provinces du Canada du fait qu'elle abrite un grand nombre de Premières nations ne bénéficiant pas de traités. Un processus spécifique a donc été élaboré conformément aux recommandations présentées en 1991 par le Groupe de travail sur les revendications en Colombie-Britannique. La Commission des traités de la Colombie-Britannique (BCTC) est chargée de faciliter le processus de négociation des traités (6 étapes). Le MPO participe aux négociations des traités, dirigées par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada .

Les traités préciseront les relations entre le MPO et les groupes autochtones et offriront une plus grande stabilité à tous les utilisateurs des ressources halieutiques.

Traités au Yukon

Au Yukon, l'Accord-cadre définitif entre le gouvernement du Canada, le Conseil des Indiens du Yukon et le gouvernement du Yukon (ACD) a été signé le 29 mai 1993. L'ACD est une structure régissant la négociation des Ententes définitives des Premières nations du Yukon. À ce jour, trois des 14 Premières nations du Yukon n'ont pas réglé leurs revendications territoriales et trois autres n'ont pas réglé leurs revendications sur des terres qui s'étendent jusque dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le Sous-comité du saumon du Yukon (SCSY) de la Commission de gestion des ressources halieutiques et fauniques a été créé en vertu de l'ACD à titre d'organisme consultatif public. Le rôle du SCSY est de formuler des recommandations, dans l'intérêt public, au ministre des Pêches et des Océans sur tout ce qui se rapporte au saumon. Le SCSY se compose de membres des Premières nations du Yukon, de membres de la Commission de gestion des ressources halieutiques et fauniques et de membres du public.

Pour un complément d'information sur le processus de négociation des traités en Colombie-Britannique en général, visitez le site Web de la BC Treaty Commission (en anglais seulement).