Salmon facts - Pacific salmon

Chinook salmon

Chinook salmon

Chinook salmon

Chinook salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha)

Quick Facts:

  • Scientific name: Oncorhynchus tshawytscha.
  • The chinook is the largest of the Pacific salmon species, the world record standing at 57.27 kilograms (126 pounds).
  • Chinook are also known as "spring" salmon because they return to some rivers earlier than other Pacific salmon species.
  • This species is known as piscivorous, meaning that they eat other fish.

A favourite in the recreational fishery, the chinook salmon is known by many names: King, blackmouth, quinnat, and chub are all references to this powerful fish - with those over 14 kilograms (30 pounds) dubbed "Tyee".

Chinook, which spawn in large rivers from California to Alaska are found in a relatively small number of streams in BC and the Yukon. Chinook production happens mainly in major river systems, the most important of which in BC is the Fraser River. Substantial numbers of chinook are also found in the Yukon River.

After hatching, chinook remain in fresh water for varying lengths of time depending on water temperature. In southern areas, some migrate after three months in fresh water while others may remain for up to a year. In northern areas, most chinook spend at least a year in fresh water. These fish are known to migrate vast distances and are found sparsely distributed throughout the Pacific Ocean. The age of chinook adults returning to spawn varies from two to seven years. Many river systems have more than one stock of chinook, some even having spring, fall and winter runs.

Because of their large size and presence in coastal waters, chinook are one of the favoured prey of killer whales, and recreational and commercial fishers. Chinook are typically fished in "hook and line" fisheries where they chase and bite lures or baited hooks being trolled through the water. Chinook are an unusual Pacific salmon species because the flesh of adults can range in colour from white through pink to deep red.

While still feeding in tidal waters, the chinook has a dark back, with a greenish blue sheen. As they approach fresh water to spawn, the body colour darkens and a reddish hue around the fins and belly develops. The teeth of adult spawning males become enlarged and the snout develops into a hook.

For further identifying information about chinook salmon, please see our Recreational Fishing Salmon Identification pages.

Chinook Migration Map

Chinook Migration Map

Chum salmon

Chum salmon

Chum salmon

Chum salmon (Oncorhynchus keta)

Quick Facts:

  • Scientific name: Oncorhynchus keta.
  • Chum salmon are found throughout the Pacific Rim, from Oregon to Alaska and as far afield as Japan and Korea.
  • Chum are the poorest jumpers of the Pacific salmon world and waterfalls that do not impede any of the other species can often stop their upstream migration.
  • This is a preferred fish for cold-smoking, owing to the low oil content of the flesh.

Commonly referred to as dog salmon due to the appearance of mature males, chum is the least sought-after of the Pacific salmon species, though has long provided a food staple for coastal peoples due to its abundance in the region.

In BC and the Yukon, chum spawn in more than 880 medium-sized streams and rivers. In short coastal streams, chum emerge from gravel spawning beds in the spring as fry and move directly to the sea. This migration is accomplished in a day or two. In larger river systems, the young remain in fresh water for periods of up to several months before reaching the ocean. Most chum spend two or three summers at sea before returning to their home streams to spawn. In May or June of their final year at sea, maturing chum are found throughout the eastern and western Pacific, north of the California border.

An attractive fish, in tidal waters chum are metallic blue and silver, with occasional black speckling on the back. Spawning chum are readily recognized by the dark horizontal stripe running down their sides, the canine-like teeth of the large males and the checkerboard or calico colouration. Chum salmon are the most widely distributed of the Pacific salmon.

For further identifying information about chum salmon, please see our Recreational Fishing Salmon Identification pages.

Chum Migration Map

Chum migration map

Coho salmon

Coho salmon

Coho salmon

Coho salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch)

Quick Facts:

  • Scientific name: Oncorhynchus kisutch.
  • There are more distinct populations of coho than of any other Pacific salmon species in BC.
  • Although coho tend to remain close to the coastline, they have been found as far as 1600 km from shore.
  • Juvenile coho defend their territories through a series of maneuvers including a complex shimmy-shake, dubbed by scientists the "wig-wag dance".

Coho are swift, active fish. These salmon are found in most BC coastal streams and in many streams from California to Alaska, but their major territory lies between the Columbia River and the Cook Inlet in Alaska. Coho spawn in over half of the 1500 streams in BC and Yukon for which records are available.

Young coho generally spend one year in freshwater although in northern populations, high proportions of juveniles spend two or even three years in freshwater before entering the ocean. Juvenile coho favour small streams, sloughs and ponds, but coho populations can also be found in lakes and large rivers. After the eggs hatch in the gravel of stream beds, young coho spend one-two years rearing in freshwater. Migrating as smolts to the oceans, they spend up to 18 months in the sea before returning to their natal streams to spawn. While most coho salmon return to fresh water as mature adults at three years of age, some mature earlier and migrate to their home streams as jacks at only two years.

There is only so much space for territories in streams so the number of young coho is limited and there is intense competition for what space there is. Individuals that can not find or defend a territory do not survive well. A consequence of this territoriality is that a stream tends to produce the same number of smolts year after year regardless of the number of adults that spawn in it.

Unlike other salmon species which generally migrate long distances in the open ocean, coho remain in coastal waters. Their proximity to land, their willingness to take lures and their tendency to jump and dodge makes them a favourite among sport fishers. Coho are also caught in First Nations food fisheries by traditional methods of weirs, nets and gaffs. Commercial troll fisheries have long harvested coho as well, although recent population instability has prompted ongoing restrictions in all fisheries since 1998.

As adults, coho have silvery sides and a metallic blue back with irregular black spots. Spawning males in freshwater exhibit bright red on their sides and bright green on the back and head, with darker colouration on the belly. They also develop a marked hooked jaw with sharp teeth. Female spawners also change colour and develop the hallmark hooked snout, but the alteration is less spectacular.

For further identifying information about coho salmon, please see our Recreational Fishing Salmon Identification pages.

Coho Migration Map

Coho migration map

Pink salmon

Pink salmon

Pink salmon

Pink salmon (Oncorhynchus gorbuscha)

Quick Facts:

  • Scientific name: Oncorhynchus gorbuscha.
  • Pink salmon are the most abundant of the seven species of salmon in BC waters.
  • Pinks have a short, two-year lifespan.
  • Fishermen know these salmon as "humpbacks" or "humpies" due to the humped back developed in males as they return to spawn.

This species is found in streams and rivers from California north to the Mackenzie River, with their principal spawning areas between Puget Sound, Washington, and Bristol Bay, Alaska. They migrate to their home stream from July to October, and while some go a considerable distance upstream, the majority spawn in waters close to the sea. During the spawning period, both sexes change from their blue and silver colouring to a pale grey.

A peculiarity of this species is its fixed, two year lifespan. Immediately after they emerge from the gravel in the spring, the young pink fry enter the ocean and after a few days to several months in the estuary and nearshore zone, they move out into the open ocean in large schools. There, pink salmon feed on the small and nearly invisible animals called zooplankton, especially krill, which gives their flesh the bright pink colour for which they are named.

Despite their short life span and small size, the migrations of Pink salmon are extensive, covering thousands of kilometres from their home streams. During ocean feeding and maturing, pink salmon are dispersed throughout the Pacific Ocean from northern California to the Bering Sea. During fall and winter, pink salmon spend more time in the southern parts of their range.

Pink salmon are mainly caught by purse seine, gillnets or trolling gear. Troll catches are normally sold as fresh fish, while those taken by net are most often canned. Recreational fishers generally catch pinks with the use of artificial lures.

For further identifying information about pink salmon, please see our Recreational Fishing Salmon Identification pages.

Pink Salmon Migration Map

Pink salmon migration map

Sockeye salmon

Sockeye salmon

Sockeye salmon

Sockeye salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka)

Quick Facts:

  • Scientific name: Oncorhynchus nerka.
  • Sockeye were the first salmon to be harvested commercially in the Pacific Region
  • The rich colour and oil content of sockeye may be attributed to their diet which includes a high percentage of shrimp and other crustaceans.
  • The name sockeye is believed derived from the Coast Salish name "sukkai" at one time in common usage in southwest BC. 

The best known Pacific salmon, sockeye are the most sought after for their superior flesh, colour and quality. Their rich oil content and red colour make them a favourite with the Canadian and international public.

The main spawning area of sockeye salmon extends from the Fraser River to Alaska’s Bristol Bay. Most sockeye in BC and the Yukon spawn in late summer or fall in lake-fed systems; at lake outlets, in lakes, or in streams flowing into lakes. Major spawning runs are found in the Fraser, Skeena, Nass, Stikine, Taku and Alsek watersheds as well as those of the Smith and Rivers inlets.

Young sockeye may remain in their freshwater nursery lakes for a year or more, with some waiting until the second or third year to make their seaward journey. Once in salt water, BC sockeye move north and north-westward along the coast. Their maturing years find them in a huge area of the Pacific Ocean extending west to approximately the International Date Line (2600 miles from the coast of Vancouver Island), north to the northern Gulf of Alaska and south to the Oregon-California border. 

One of the most remarkable features of sockeye is a phenomenon called "cyclic dominance". In many of the lakes of the Fraser River in particular, sockeye are abundant in one of every four years. Sockeye can mature at ages between two and six years old but in most systems, one age group (usually four-year-old fish) dominates, meaning most of the offspring produced in any one "brood-year" return to spawn four years later. This year of increased population significance creates a cyclic dominance which leads to spectacular returns to the Adams River every four years (2006 is the next dominant cycle). Although there are many ideas about why this occurs, nobody knows for sure.

Sockeye salmon are caught commercially with purse seine, gill nets and trolling gear. First Nations use traditional nets, weirs and gaffs; while sport fishers are able to catch sockeye with spoons or bait. Migratory pathways present the greatest availability for catch during runs from June to November. Significant to all fishing sectors, sockeye were the first salmon to be commercially fished in the Pacific Region and were the first salmon to be canned in quantity, beginning in the 1870s.

Although ocean-going sockeye are silver in colour, with small black speckles along the body, the recollection many people have of this fish is that of the sockeye returning to freshwater to spawn. As sockeye approach their home streams, they turn varying shades of red - resulting in a brilliant scarlet fish with a green head by the time they have arrived at their point of natal origin. It is this deep colouring, along with the rich cultural, economic and ecological history that continue to make sockeye a symbol in the Pacific Region.

For further identifying information about sockeye salmon, please see our Recreational Fishing Salmon Identification pages.

Sockeye Migration Map

Sockeye migration map

Lifecycle of a salmon

Lifecycle of a salmon

Chinook salmon

Lifecycle of a salmon

Each fall, drawn by natural forces, the salmon return to the rivers which gave them birth. They fight their way upstream against powerful currents, leap waterfalls and battle their way through rapids. They also face dangers from those who like the taste of salmon: bears, eagles, osprey and people.

Once the salmon reach their spawning grounds, they deposit thousands of fertilized eggs in the gravel. Each female digs a nest with a male in attendance beside her.

By using her tail, the female creates a depression in which she releases her eggs. At the same time, the male releases a cloud of milt. When the female starts to prepare her second nest, she covers the first nest with gravel which protects the eggs from predators. This process is repeated several times until the female has spawned all her eggs.

Their long journey over, the adult salmon die. Their carcasses provide nourishment and winter food for bears, otters, raccoons, mink and provide nutrients to the river for the new generation of salmon, much as dying leaves fertilize the earth. The two other salmonids, cutthroat and steelhead, may survive to go back to sea and possibly return to spawn again.

As the salmon eggs lie in the gravel they develop an eye - the first sign of life within. Over months, the embryo develops and hatches as an alevin. The alevin carries a yolk sac which will provide food for two to three months. Once the nutrients in the sac are absorbed, the free-swimming fry must move up into the water and face a dangerous world.

The fry may live in fresh water for a year or more, or may go downstream to the sea at once - it varies by species. Fry ready to enter salt water are called smolts. Whenever they do migrate, they face predators, swift currents, waterfalls, pollution and competition for food.

Young salmonids stay close to the coastline when they first reach the sea. After their first winter, they move out into the open ocean, and, depending on the species, spend from one to four years eating and growing in the north Pacific Ocean. Then they return to their home streams, spawn and die.

From each thousand eggs that were laid, only a few adult salmon survive to perpetuate their species. Hatcheries greatly increase the number of survivors by protecting the eggs and fry through the critical early development of their life.

Saumon du Pacifique - Fiche d'information

Le saumon quinnat

Le saumon quinnat

Le saumon quinnat

Le saumon quinnat (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha)

Faits en bref :

  • Nom scientifique : Oncorhynchus tshawytscha.
  • Le saumon quinnat est le plus gros de tous les saumons du Pacifique. Record mondial de spécimen pêché : 57,27 kg (126 lb).
  • On l'appelle également « saumon de printemps » du fait que les géniteurs arrivent dans certaines rivières plus tôt que les autres espèces de saumon du Pacifique.
  • C'est une espèce piscivore (qui mange du poisson).

Particulièrement apprécié des pêcheurs sportifs, le saumon quinnat est également désigné saumon-roi en raison de sa force et de sa combativité. Les spécimens de plus de 14 kg (30 lb) sont appelés « Tyee ».

Le saumon quinnat fraie dans les grands bassins hydrographiques de la Californie à l'Alaska, et on le trouve dans certains cours d'eau de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon, notamment dans le fleuve Fraser et le fleuve Yukon.

Après sa naissance, le saumon quinnat séjourne en eau douce pendant une période qui varie selon la température de l'eau. Les populations du Sud peuvent passer entre trois mois et un an dans les cours d'eau avant d'entreprendre leur avalaison vers l'océan. Mais celles du Nord passent habituellement au moins un an en milieu dulcicole. Le saumon quinnat est une espèce connue pour la grande amplitude de ses déplacements migratoires et sa dissémination en petits effectifs à travers le Pacifique. Les adultes reviennent frayer après une période pouvant varier de deux à sept ans après la naissance. Plusieurs rivières comptent plus d'un stock de quinnats, et certaines ont même des remontes au printemps, à l'automne et en hiver.

En raison de sa taille impressionnante et de sa présence dans les eaux littorales, le quinnat est particulièrement apprécié non seulement des pêcheurs sportifs et des pêcheurs commerciaux mais des épaulards. Il se pêche généralement « à la traîne », avec une ligne et un hameçon doté d'un leurre ou d'un appât. Le quinnat se distingue des autres espèces de saumons du Pacifique par la couleur de sa chair qui peut aller du blanc au rouge foncé en passant par le rose.

Lorsqu'il s'alimente dans les eaux maréales, le quinnat se distingue par son dos de couleur foncée irisée de bleu et de vert. À mesure qu'il s'approche des eaux douces pour frayer, sa livrée s'assombrit et prend des tons rougeâtres autour des nageoires et de la partie ventrale. Chez les mâles adultes les dents grossissent, et la mandibule se développe et se courbe pour se terminer en forme de crochet.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'identification du saumon quinnat, veuillez visiter les pages du site de la pêche récréative concernant l'identification du saumon.

arte de migration du saumon quinnat

Carte de migration du saumon quinnat

Le saumon kéta

Le saumon kéta

Le saumon kéta

Le saumon kéta (Oncorhynchus keta)

Faits en bref :

  • Nom scientifique : Oncorhynchus keta.
  • Le saumon kéta se retrouve dans toute la région du Pacifique, depuis l'Oregon jusqu'à l'Alaska, en passant par les eaux bordant le Japon et la Corée.
  • La moins acrobatique de toutes les espèces de saumon du Pacifique, sa remonte est facilement entravée par des dénivellations qui n'arrêteraient pas d'autres types de salmonidés.
  • C'est un poisson qui se fume cru en raison de sa faible teneur en huile.

Les mâles adultes se distinguent par leur mandibule d'allure canine. C'est le moins recherché des saumons du Pacifique, mais il a de tout temps compté parmi les aliments essentiels des peuples côtiers du Pacifique en raison de sa grande abondance à travers la région.

En Colombie-Britannique et au Yukon, le kéta se reproduit dans plus de 880 cours d'eau. Dans les petites rivières de la côte, les alevins qui sortent des gravières au printemps entreprennent immédiatement leur avalaison pour arriver en mer après un trajet d'une ou deux journées. Mais dans les bassins plus importants, les jeunes peuvent prendre plusieurs mois avant d'arriver à l'océan. La plupart des kétas séjournent en mer pendant deux ou trois ans avant de reprendre le chemin de la remonte vers leurs frayères natales. Aux mois de mai et de juin de leur dernière année en mer, les adultes se retrouvent des deux côtés du Pacifique, au nord de la frontière californienne.

Poisson de fière allure, le kéta qui arrive en eaux maréales voit sa livrée prendre une couleur argentée tirant sur le bleu métallique, avec des petites taches noires sur le dos. Les géniteurs se distinguent par leurs flancs traversés d'une bande horizontale, ainsi que par leur livrée bigarrée et leurs dents d'apparence canine. Le kéta est le plus largement disséminé de tous les saumons du Pacifique.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'identification du saumon kéta, veuillez visiter les pages du site de la pêche récréative concernant l'identification du saumon.

Carte de migration du saumon kéta

Carte de migration du saumon kéta

Le saumon coho

Le saumon coho

Coho salmon

Le saumon coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch)

Faits en bref :

  • Nom scientifique : Oncorhynchus kisutch.
  • Le coho compte davantage de populations spécifiques que toute autre espèce de saumon de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • Bien que le saumon coho ait tendance à ne pas trop s'éloigner du littoral, certains spécimens ont été trouvés à 1 600 km de la côte.
  • Les juvéniles défendent leur territoire par une série de manœuvres qui prennent l'allure d'une danse effrénée.

Le saumon coho est un poisson agile et actif. On le retrouve dans la plupart des cours d'eau de la côte britanno-colombienne et dans plusieurs rivières du Pacifique Nord-Ouest, de la Californie jusqu'à l'Alaska, mais principalement entre le fleuve Columbia et le bras Cook Inlet (Alaska). On a recensé des frayères de coho dans plus de la moitié des 1 500 cours d'eau de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon pour lesquels on dispose de données.

Les jeunes cohos passent généralement un an en eau douce, bien que chez les populations du Nord, une forte proportion de juvéniles peuvent séjourner en rivière pendant deux ou trois ans. Ils préfèrent généralement les petits cours d'eau et les terrains marécageux, mais certaines populations fréquentent également les lacs et les grandes rivières. Après l'éclosion des œufs dans les gravières des frayères natales, les jeunes cohos passent un ou deux ans en eau douce. Après l'avalaison au stade de smolt, ils passent jusqu'à dix-huit mois en mer avant de reprendre le chemin du retour jusqu'à leur cours d'eau natal où ils viennent frayer. La plupart prennent trois ans avant d'atteindre l'âge de reproduction, mais certains se développent plus vite et retournent à leurs frayères natales au stade de « castillons » (deux ans).

Le recrutement étant conditionné par l'espace disponible dans les rivières, les jeunes cohos sont soumis à une vive concurrence territoriale. Ceux qui ne peuvent trouver ou défendre leur espace vital ont de la difficulté à survivre. C'est pourquoi chaque cours d'eau a tendance à produire le même nombre de smolts année après année, indifféremment du nombre d'adultes venus y frayer.

Contrairement aux autres espèces de saumons qui se livrent à des migrations océanes de très grande amplitude, le coho préfère se tenir à proximité de la côte. Cette facilité d'accès, et la tendance du coho à mordre à l'hameçon et à essayer de s'esquiver par des bonds spectaculaires en font une cible de choix pour les pêcheurs sportifs. Le coho est également pêché par les Autochtones qui le capturent pour leurs besoins alimentaires, au moyen de méthodes traditionnelles (fascines, filets, gaffes), ainsi que par les ligneurs commerciaux, bien que les récents aléas du recrutement aient entraîné la restriction de l'effort de pêche depuis 1998.

Arrivé à l'âge adulte, le saumon coho arbore une livrée argentée sur les flancs et bleu métallique tachetée de noir sur la partie dorsale. Les mâles géniteurs qui font leur entrée dans les eaux douces ont une couleur rouge vif sur les flancs et vert brillant sur le dos et la tête, et une coloration foncée sur le ventre. Leur mandibule s'allonge et se courbe pour se terminer en crochet avec des dents pointues. Les femelles adultes changent également de couleur et développent une mandibule courbée, mais leur transformation est moins spectaculaire que celle des mâles.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'identification du saumon coho, veuillez visiter les pages du site de la pêche récréative concernant l'identification du saumon.

Carte de migration du saumon coho

Carte de migration du saumon coho

Le saumon rose

Le saumon rose

Le saumon rose

Le saumon rose (Oncorhynchus gorbuscha)

Faits en bref :

  • Nom scientifique : Oncorhynchus gorbuscha.
  • Le saumon rose est la plus abondante des sept espèces de saumon fréquentant les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • Ce poisson a une durée de vie relativement restreinte, ne dépassant pas les deux ans.
  • Les mâles qui reviennent frayer dans les rivières se reconnaissent à leur dos bossu.

Cette espèce se retrouve dans les cours d'eau baignant un territoire allant de la Californie jusqu'au fleuve Mackenzie. Ses principales frayères sont concentrées entre la région de Puget Sound (État de Washington) et la baie de Bristol (Alaska), certaines loin en amont mais la plupart sont près de l'océan. Les saumons roses remontent à leurs frayères natales entre juillet et octobre. Durant la période de reproduction, les mâles et les femelles voient leurs livrées respectives passer du bleu argenté à une nuance gris pâle.

Cette espèce se distingue par sa durée de vie qui ne dépasse pas les deux ans. Dès qu'ils émergent de leurs gravières natales au printemps, les jeunes alevins entreprennent leur avalaison. Après un séjour de quelques jours à plusieurs mois dans les eaux estuariennes et littorales, les jeunes saumons roses partent en bancs relativement nombreux pour leurs grandes migrations océanes où ils se nourrissent de zooplancton, en particulier de crustacés microscopiques appelés « krill », qui donnent à leur chair la couleur rose dont ils tirent leur nom.

Malgré sa longévité relativement faible et sa petite taille, le saumon rose parcourt des milliers de kilomètres durant sa migration en océan avant de remonter jusqu'aux frayères natales pour se reproduire. Lors de leur migration thalassotrophe, les jeunes saumons essaiment à travers l'océan Pacifique sur un territoire allant du Nord de la Californie à la mer de Béring, pour se déplacer dans les franges méridionales de cette aire de répartition à l'arrivée de la saison froide.

Le saumon rose se pêche principalement à la senne, au filet maillant et à la ligne traînante. Les captures effectuées à la ligne sont normalement destinées aux étals des poissonniers alors que celles provenant de la pêche au filet sont principalement destinées aux conserveries. Les pêcheurs récréatifs prennent habituellement le saumon rose à la ligne, avec des leurres artificiels.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'identification du saumon rose, veuillez visiter les pages du site de la pêche récréative concernant l'identification du saumon.

Carte de migration du saumon rose

Carte de migration du saumon rose

Le saumon rouge

Le saumon rouge

Le saumon rouge

Le saumon rouge (Oncorhynchus nerka)

Faits en bref :

  • Nom scientifique : Oncorhynchus nerka.
  • Également appelé « sockeye », ce saumon est le premier de l'espèce à avoir été pêché commercialement dans la région du Pacifique.
  • Sa riche couleur rouge et sa teneur élevée en huile s'expliquent par une diète constituée principalement de crevettes et autres crustacés.
  • Le nom « sockeye » proviendrait du vocable « sukkai » utilisé par les Coast Salish dont l'emploi était jadis répandu dans le Sud-Ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le plus célèbre de tous les salmonidés du Pacifique, le saumon rouge est également le plus recherché pour la qualité et la couleur de sa chair. Sa haute teneur en huile et sa robe rouge en font un poisson très apprécié sur les marchés locaux et étrangers.

La principale aire de distribution des frayères de saumon rouge s'étend du fleuve Fraser jusqu'à la baie de Bristol (Alaska). La plupart des populations de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon se reproduisent à la fin de l'été ou à l'automne, dans des bassins d'origine lacustre, dans des lacs ou dans des rivières qui se jettent dans des lacs. Les principales remontes concernent le fleuve Fraser et les bassins des rivières Skeena, Nass, Stikine, Taku et Alsek ainsi que les bassins de Smith Inlet et de Rivers Inlet.

Les jeunes saumons rouges peuvent séjourner dans leurs lacs natals pendant plus d'un an, certains attendant jusqu'à deux ou trois ans avant d'entreprendre leur avalaison vers l'océan. À leur arrivée en eau salée, les saumons rouges migrent le long de la côte en direction nord et nord-ouest. Leur aire de distribution thalassotrophe couvre un immense territoire qui s'étend en direction ouest jusqu'à la ligne de changement de date (à 2 600 milles de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver), en direction nord jusqu'à l'extrémité nord du golfe de l'Alaska, et en direction sud jusqu'à la frontière entre l'Oregon et la Californie.

L'une des principales caractéristiques biologiques du saumon rouge est sa « dominante cyclique » qui s'observe notamment dans de nombreux lacs du bassin du Fraser, où les populations de saumons rouges connaissent un pic d'abondance quadriannuel. Le saumon rouge prend de deux à six ans pour arriver à maturité, mais la plupart des bassins sont dominés par une cohorte spécifique (généralement celle des quatre ans), impliquant que la progéniture d'une année de ponte donnée reviendra frayer quatre ans plus tard. Ce pic de fécondité quadriannuel produit la dominante cyclique à l'origine des remontes spectaculaires observées dans la rivière Adams à tous les quatre ans. Le phénomène a donné lieu à de nombreuses théories, mais personne ne sait l'expliquer de manière certaine.

Le saumon rouge se pêche commercialement à la senne, au filet maillant et à la traîne. Les Autochtones le capturent avec des filets traditionnels, des fascines et des gaffes, et les pêcheurs sportifs le pêchent à la cuiller ou avec des appâts naturels. Les routes migratoires procurent les meilleures opportunités de pêche durant les remontes de juin à novembre. Le saumon rouge intéresse tous les secteurs de pêche mais il fut le premier type de l'espèce à être pêché commercialement dans la région du Pacifique et le premier à assurer le marché des conserveries, dans les années 1870.

Bien que les saumons rouges qui vont dans l'océan ont une coloration d'un gris argenté constellé de points noirs, ils sont souvent observés dans leur livrée de remonte en eau douce. Au fur et à mesure qu'ils approchent de leurs frayères natales, les géniteurs développent une robe de couleur rouge – qui devient écarlate et terminée par une tête de couleur verte au moment de l'arrivée dans le site de frayère natale. C'est cette coloration intense et la riche histoire culturelle, économique et écologique à laquelle il est associé qui font du saumon rouge un symbole de la région du Pacifique. 

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'identification du saumon rouge, veuillez visiter les pages du site de la pêche récréative concernant l'identification du saumon.

Carte de migration du saumon rouge

Carte de migration du saumon rouge

Cycle de vie du saumon

Cycle de vie du saumon

Illustration du cycle de vie du saumon

Cycle de vie du saumon

Chaque automne, poussés par une force naturelle, les saumons reviennent dans la rivière où ils sont nés. Ils nagent en amont à travers des courants puissants, traversent des rapides et sautent des chutes d'eau. Ils doivent aussi faire face à des prédateurs: ours, aigles, balbuzards et humains.

Lors de son arrivée à sa frayère, le saumon dépose des milliers d'oeufs fertilisés dans le gravier. Chaque femelle creuse un nid en présence d'un mâle.

En utilisant sa queue, la femelle crée une dépression dans laquelle elle libère ses oeufs. En même temps, le mâle libère un nuage de laitance. Lorsque la femelle commence à préparer son deuxième nid, elle couvre le premier nid de gravier, ce qui protège les oeufs contre des prédateurs. Ce processus est répété plusieurs fois jusqu'à ce que la femelle ait engendré tous ses oeufs.

Leur long voyage fini, les saumons adultes meurent. Leurs carcasses fournissent de la nourriture d'hiver pour les ours, loutres, ratons laveur, visons et fournissent aussi des nutriments au fleuve pour la nouvelle génération de saumon, de la même façon que les feuilles mortes fertilisent la terre. Les deux autres salmonidés, la truite fardée et la truite arc-en-ciel, peuvent survivre, retourner de nouveau à la mer et possiblement revenir frayer.

Dans le gravier, les oeufs de saumons développent un œil - le premier signe de la vie. Au cours de quelques mois, l'embryon se développe et devient un alevin. L'alevin porte un sac vitellin qui contient tout ce dont il a besoin pour se nourrir durant les deux ou trois premier mois de vie. Une fois que les nutriments renfermés dans le sac sont absorbés, les alevins nageants remontent en aval et font face à un monde dangereux.

L'alevin peut vivre en eau doux pendant plus d'une année, ou peut nager en aval vers la mer – ceci dépend de l'espèce. Les alevins qui sont prêts à entrer l'eau salée s'appellent saumoneau. Un fois qu'ils ont commencé leur migration, les saumoneaux font face aux prédateurs, courants rapides, chutes d'eau, pollution et concurrence pour la nourriture.

Les jeunes salmonidés restent près du littoral quand ils atteignent la mer. Après leur premier hiver, ils vont vivre en mer, et, selon l'espèce, passent d'un à quatre ans à manger et à croître dans l'océan Pacifique du Nord. Ils reviennent alors à leur cours d'eau natal, pour frayer et mourir.

De tous les milliers d'oeufs pondus, seulement quelques saumons adultes survivent pour perpétuer leurs espèces. Les écloseries augmentent considérablement le nombre de survivants en protégeant les oeufs et les alevins pendant la période précoce du développement de leur vie.