Capilano River Hatchery

Completed in 1971, the Capilano River Hatchery was built to strengthen declining Capilano salmon stocks that were affected by the construction of the Cleveland Dam. Today, the hatchery receives 238,000 visitors annually and is widely recognized for its contribution of coho and steelhead to the sport fishery in Burrard Inlet. The hatchery’s work has also introduced chinook to the system in an attempt to establish a self-sustaining run in the Capilano River fishery and in the Vancouver Harbour tidal sport fishery. In the fall, salmon returning to the Capilano River provide an important food, social and ceremonial fishery for the Squamish First Nation. The Capilano River Hatchery interpretive centre is open for public viewing daily, giving locals and visitors from around the world a chance to learn more about the salmon life cycle.

Directions

Heading north on Capilano Road (Capilano Road exit from Highway 1 or North Vancouver exit off Lions Gate Bridge, then left up Capilano Road) About half a kilometre past the Suspension Bridge, turn left on to Capilano Park Road (Look for the Capilano River Regional Park sign) and proceed one kilometre to end of the road.

Visiting the Hatchery

Parking in Capilano River Regional Park is provided by Metro Vancouver. To find out current parking, please phone the Metro Vancouver Regional Parks West Area Office at 604-224-5739. The canyon can be a very dangerous place for people of all ages because of its steep and slippery banks. Some areas of the canyon are marked with signs and fenced off. Remember that it is possible for the river level to become dangerously high within a short period of time. Be aware -- it is not possible to safeguard the entire park. Do not leave valuables in parked cars or buses.

When can I see salmon?

Species Dates
chinook adults October to November
coho adults June to November
steelhead adults March to April
coho juveniles all year
chinook juveniles March to May

Fish Production

Annual fish releases are available through a query to the release database.

Contact

Phone: 604-666-1790 (8:00 am to 4:00 pm)
Fax: 604-666-1949
Email: Jeremy Smith

4500 Capilano Park Road
North Vancouver, B.C.
V7R 4L3

Hours:
Open to the public:

  • November - March: 8:00am - 4:00pm
  • April: 8:00am - 6:00pm
  • May: 8:00am - 7:00pm
  • June - August: 8:00am - 8:00pm
  • September: 8:00am - 7:00pm
  • October: 8:00am - 6:00pm

Key Activities

Local Fishing and Community Involvement

Écloserie de la rivière Capilano

Coordonnées

604-666-1790 (entre 8 h et 16 h)
Téléc. : 604-666-1949
Hamid Seshadri

4500 Capilano Park Road
North Vancouver C.-B.
V7R 4L3

Heures d'ouverture :

  • novembre - mars: de 8 h à 16 h tous les jours
  • avril: de 8 h à 18 h tous les jours
  • mai: de 8 h à 19 h tous les jours
  • juin - août: de 8 h à 20 h tous les jours
  • septembre: de 8 h à 19 h tous les jours
  • octobre: de 8 h à 18 h tous les jours

Activités principales

Pêche locale et participation communautaire

L'écloserie du fleuve Capilano a été construite en 1971 pour rétablir les stocks de saumons de ce fleuve qui ont été touchés par l'aménagement du barrage Cleveland. Aujourd'hui, l'écloserie accueille 238 000 visiteurs chaque année et est largement reconnue pour sa contribution de saumons coho et de truites arc-en-ciel à la pêche sportive dans le bras de mer Burrard. L'écloserie a également introduit des saumons quinnat dans le bassin hydrographique afin de tenter d'établir une montaison autosuffisante pour la pêche dans le fleuve Capilano et pour la pêche sportive dans les zones de marée du port de Vancouver. À l'automne, les saumons qui remontent vers le fleuve appuient une importante pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles de la Première Nation Squamish. Le centre d'interprétation de l'écloserie du fleuve Capilano est ouvert au public tous les jours, permettant aux résidents de l'endroit et aux visiteurs du monde entier de découvrir le cycle vital du saumon.

Directions

Empruntez la route Capilano nord (sur la route no 1, prenez la sortie chemin Capilano, ou sur le pont Lions Gate, prenez la sortie North Vancouver; tournez ensuite à gauche et continuez sur le chemin Capilano) jusqu'à 0,5 km après le pont Suspension. Tournez à gauche sur le chemin Capilano Park (cherchez le panneau « Capilano River Regional Park ») et continuez pendant 1 km jusqu'au bout du chemin.

Visite de l'écloserie

Le stationnement dans le parc régional du fleuve Capilano est géré par Metro Vancouver. Pour connaître les tarifs actuels de stationnement, veuillez téléphoner au bureau régional ouest des parcs régionaux de Metro Vancouver au 604 224-5739. Les rives escarpées et glissantes du canyon peuvent être dangereuses pour les personnes de tous âges. Certaines sections du canyon sont indiquées par des affiches et clôturées. Rappelez-vous que le niveau de la rivière peut monter dangereusement très rapidement. Soyez prudent. Il n'est pas possible d'assurer la sécurité dans tout le parc. Ne laissez pas d'objets de valeur dans les voitures ou les autobus stationnés.

Quand puis-je voir des saumons?

Espèce Dates
Saumons quinnat adultes octobre – novembre
Saumons coho adultes juin – novembre
Truites arc-en-ciel adultes mars – avril
Saumons coho juvéniles toute l'année
Saumons quinnat juvéniles mars – mai