IncubWin: A Windows 95/98/NT Computer Program for Predicting Embryonic Stages in Pacific Salmon and Steelhead Trout

J.O.T Jensen and M.E. Jensen

IncubWin was developed to run on Windows 95/98/NT operating systems. The program is based on relationships between incubation temperature and embryonic development rates for eggs of Pacific salmon (chinook, Oncorhynchus tshawytscha; chum, O. keta; coho, O. kisutch; pink, O. gorbuscha; sockeye, O. nerka) and steelhead trout (O. mykiss). One hundred and fifty mathematical models for embryonic stages, for median hatching, and for maximum alevin wet weight (MAWW), ponding, or emergence have been incorporated into the program. Hence, the user can easily determine the time (i.e., in hours, days, or °C-days) it takes eggs or larvae for any of the six species to attain a specific stage of development at various temperatures. Also included in the program are digitized colour photographs of the various developmental stages. Three files are available for downloading.

  1. The setup files for this program can be obtained by downloading the file, Incubwin 2.1 setup.zip". Unzip or extract the files into a subdirectory using Winzip and then install the program by running the installation file setup.exe. This can be done by double-clicking on the setup.exe file using Windows Explorer, or by using "Add/Remove Programs" in Control Panel.
  2. In addition, a brief instructional tutorial is available as an MS PowerPoint slideshow file (IncubWinTutorial.zip). Once the file has been downloaded and unzipped or extracted using Winzip, simply open the file using PowerPoint and run the slideshow.

The figures from the instructional tutorial are also available as pages of static slides in GIF format (IncubWindf.zip). Simply unzip or extract using Winzip and the 17 GIF files can be viewed or printed in any compatible image viewing software.

If you encounter any difficulties running the program you may direct your questions to:
Ted Sweeten
Pacific Biological Station
Tel: 250-756-7286
Fax: 250-756-7053
Email: Ted.Sweeten@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

IncubWin : un nouveau programme informatique sous Windows 95/98/NT pour prédire les stades embryonnaires chez les saumons du Pacifique (y compris le saumon arc-en-ciel)

J.O.T Jensen et M.E. Jensen

IncubWin, a été conçu pour les systèmes d'exploitation Windows 95/98/NT. Le programme est fondé sur la température d'incubation et les taux de développement embryonnaire des œufs des saumons du Pacifique (quinnat, Oncorhynchus tshawytscha; kéta, O. keta; coho, O. kisutch; saumon rose, O. gorbuscha; saumon rouge, O. nerka; saumon arc-en-ciel, O. mykiss). Cent cinquante modèles mathématiques correspondant aux stades embryonnaires, à la médiane de l'éclosion et au poids humide maximal des alevins vésiculés (MAWW), à l'émergence et à la mise en bassin ont été intégrés dans le programme. L'utilisateur peut ainsi facilement déterminer le temps (heures, jours ou degrés-jours) que prennent les œufs ou les larves de chacune des six espèces pour atteindre un stade précis du développement en fonction de diverses températures. Le programme comprend également des photos numériques en couleur des différents stades du développement. Trois fichiers peuvent être téléchargés (en anglais).

  1. Pour obtenir les fichiers d'installation du programme, vous pouvez télécharger le fichier « IncubWin.zip ». « Dézippez » ou extrayez les fichiers dans un sous-répertoire à l'aide de WinZip, puis installez le programme en exécutant le fichier d'installation « setup.exe ». Vous pouvez exécuter ce fichier {a} en double-cliquant sur le fichier « setup.exe » dans Windows Explorer ou {b} en utilisant la fonction « Ajout/Suppression de programmes » dans le Panneau de configuration.
  2. En outre, un didacticiel est disponible en format MS PowerPoint (IncubWinTutorial.zip). Une fois que vous avez téléchargé puis dézippé ou extrait le fichier au moyen de WinZip, ouvrez-le avec PowerPoint et lancez le diaporama.Les figures du didacticiel sont également disponibles en « diapositives statiques » en format GIF (IncubWinpdf.zip). « Dézippez » ou extrayez les 17 diapositives à l'aide de WinZip. Vous pouvez les visionner ou les imprimer au moyen d'un logiciel de visionnement.

Si vous n'arrivez pas à bien faire fonctionner le programme, veuillez communiquer avec :

Ted Sweeten
Station de Biologue du Pacifique
Tél : 250-756-7286
Télécopieur : 250-756-7053
Courriel : Ted.Sweeten@dfo-mpo.gc.ca